Skip to main content

Access Services: Privileges

The first point of contact for most library users, Access Services includes: Circulation, Reserves, Interlibrary Loan, and Gifts & Exchange. We are located on the second floor. For any additional information, call us at 985-448-4654

Circulation Desk Picture

 
 

Privileges

Library Privileges

For Faculty, Students, Staff, the Public, Retirees, and Alumni

Current Faculty, Staff, and Students have circulation privileges. This allows them to check out books, bound serials, documents, monographs, scores, CDs, and DVDs. Reserved materials can only be used in the library and can be checked out with a Nicholls Colonel Card. (See Circulation Rules) Print materials, e.g. articles and reports, are located using the online catalog. These materials can be copied, printed, or downloaded, depending on the individual item’s format. Privileges also include remote access to Library databases. Interlibrary Loan provides books and articles for patrons if the Library does not own or have access to the material.

In addition, students have use of a student funded fax machine and scanner.

Classes for bibliographic instruction, information literacy, or both are scheduled by appointment with the Head of Reference and Instruction and the Subject Liaison Librarian. Students, faculty, and staff may request individual research sessions with a librarian during regular library hours.

Finally, use of the Library’s facilities is another privilege. This includes computers, copy machines, microfiche readers, study carrels, study rooms, designated quiet areas, and leisure seating.

The Public, Nicholls Retirees, and Alumni have many of the same privileges as current faculty and staff. However, retirees, alumni, and the public do not have all the same privileges.

The general public is welcome to use Ellender Memorial Library’s books, journal collections, and computers. The public does not have checkout privileges but can use our copiers, printers and microfilm readers. Members of the public may apply for a Library Courtesy Card for a yearly membership fee of $12.00. Public users purchase Courtesy Cards from the Access Services desk in the library. Prospective users must obtain the physical card from the Colonel Card Office in the Student Union during regular business hours with a current Driver’s License and paid receipt from the Library. Courtesy Card privileges begin only when the holder is in possession of the card. The card must be renewed annually. A current Courtesy Card allows the holder the same check out privileges as current students, with the exception of Interlibrary Loan and remote access to the databases. Courtesy Card holders do not have use of the student funded fax machine and scanner.

In addition to general public privileges, Nicholls retirees have the same privileges as Courtesy Card holders. Retirees may use Interlibrary Loan. However, these privileges only commence when the individual obtains a retiree Colonel Card from the Colonel Card Office during regular business hours. These retiree cards must be renewed annually. Retirees do not have remote access to the Library’s databases and are not allowed use of the student funded fax machine and scanner.

Alumni members who have paid their annual membership fee will be granted Library access similar to those granted with a Courtesy Card. However, Interlibrary Loan, remote access to the Library’s databases and use of the student funded fax machine and scanner is not included. Alumni members must obtain a Colonel Card before receiving Library services.

The Archives & Special Collections and Government Information departments are open to all library users. However, material in the Archives & Special Collections department is non-circulating and can only be used in the Archives. The Government Information department offers both circulating and non-circulating materials. Please refer to their departmental policies for more information.

Ellender Memorial Library is an academic library, not a public one. Visitors and guests are welcome, but all patrons must always comply with the policies of Ellender Memorial Library and Nicholls State University.

LOUIS Card

A LOUIS reciprocal borrowing card offers a way for students, faculty and staff of Louisiana colleges and universities to borrow materials from academic libraries other than their own.

If you are a currently enrolled student, or currently employed faculty or staff of Nicholls and you are in good standing with the library, you may go to your library circulation desk and request a LOUIS borrowing card.

If you are enrolled in another LOUIS school, your school may issue your card.

Click to complete an online LOUIS card application.

Regulations

LOUIS cardholders will be required to present your LOUIS card and your photo ID from the University you attend each time you wish to check out books. No one else is allowed to use your card and it will be confiscated if an attempt to do so is made.

You will be responsible for borrowed library materials until they are returned. Books will not be renewed over the telephone.

A limit of 10 library items may be charged to your LOUIS card at any time.

Any item checked out by a student from another library may be recalled at any time if a Nicholls student needs it for their classes.

The circulation period for library material from the General Collection is twenty-one (21) days. This material may be renewed online up to three (3) times during the semester if the material is not overdue and there are no accrued fines.

The fine for overdue books is $.25 per day per book until the maximum overdue fine of $10.00 is reached. Lost book replacement cost is the estimated cost of the book, accrued fines, and a non-refundable $5.00 service charge.

Check out privileges will be suspended any time there are overdue books, unpaid library fines, or if the request to return library material is ignored. Overdue fines must be paid at the Circulation Desk at the time the overdue material is returned.

Courtesy Card

  1. Applicant MUST have a valid Louisiana driver’s license AND be eighteen years of age or older.    NO other person is allowed to use your card.  Your card will be confiscated if an attempt to use your card is made by another person.
  2. Courtesy Card holders are required to get a Nicholls ID (Colonel Card) from the Colonel Card Office in the Student Union Building.  Please bring your library receipt to the Colonel Card Office during 8:00 am – 4:00 pm business hours.
  3. You must present your Nicholls ID (Colonel Card) each time library materials are checked out.
  4. You will be responsible for borrowed library materials until they are returned to the library.
  5. If a Nicholls student requests materials you have charged to your account, the materials will be recalled and you must return the items recalled as soon as possible.  (The library’s primary responsibility is to currently enrolled students.)
  6. You are permitted a 10 book maximum.  Normal circulation period is 21 days.  The due date is stamped on a card placed in a pocket at the back of each book.
  7. Books may be renewed in the library or online through the Library’s main page.
  8. Books cannot be renewed over the phone.
  9. Fines are $.25 per day per item with a $10.00 maximum per item. The library system will automatically generate a bill when the maximum overdue fine is reached (forty days overdue).
  10. Replacement cost for lost books is the average cost ($63.56) plus accrued fines (($10.00), and the processing fee ($5.00).
  11. Check out privileges will be suspended and your record will be barred from use any time you have overdue books, unpaid library fines, or if a RECALL is ignored.
  12. Overdue charges must be paid at the Circulation Desk at the time of return.  (If a return is damaged or lost, you will pay the average cost.  A refund will be issued if you return a lost book in the same condition it was in at the time of check out.  A lost book may also be replaced with the exact book in good condition.  A librarian must  inspect and approve the replacement.
  13. Your record is automatically barred from use when items are overdue or there are unpaid charges. Your record will remain barred until ALL items are returned and FULL payment has been made.
  14. Courtesy Card privileges can be renewed annually with the $12.00 fee or proof of current Alumni Association membership when you have cleared any indebtedness to the library.  There is no limit to the number of times a Courtesy Card can be renewed if the patron follows the lending regulations and remains in good standing with the library and Nicholls State University.
Loading ...

Hours

 

 

 April B. Rome

 Library Specialist 3

 Debbie A. Adams

 Library Specialist 3

 Lady Pierson

 Library Specialist 3

 985-448-4666
 april.rome@nicholls.edu
 985-448-4658
 debbie.adams@nicholls.edu 
 985-448-4631
 lady.pierson@nicholls.edu