Skip to main content
Ellender Library

Archives and Special Collections: Newspapers

Newspapers

Newspaper holdings are grouped by publication location, and are retained in microfilm format unless otherwise indicated.

Lafourche Parish and Thibodaux

Thibodaux Minerva June 11, 1853 - June 7, 1856
  June 11, 1853 - June 7, 1856 (online)
La Sentinelle de Thibodaux Feb. 7, 1863 - June 2, 1866 (online)
Weekly Thibodaux Sentinel Aug. 1865 - May 25, 1907 (Vital records index available in Archives Reading Room)
  Jan. 1, 1876 - Feb. 26, 1898 (online)
  Jan. 6, 1900 - Dec. 26, 1903 (online)
Thibodaux Sentinel June 1, 1907 - Dec. 7, 1912 (Vital records index available in Archives Reading Room)
  Jan. 4, 1908 - Dec. 7, 1912 (online)
Commercial Journal Mar. 9, 1910 - Feb. 8, 1911
Thibodaux Commercial Journal Mar. 9, 1910 - Dec. 7, 1956
  Mar. 9, 1910 - Dec. 30, 1922 (online)
Lafourche Parish Press Jan. 7, 1959 - Dec. 27, 1961
Lafourche Weekly Press Jan. 3, 1962 - Dec. 21, 1965
Lafourche Comet Jan. 7, 1892 - May 30, 1968
Daily Comet

Jun. 4, 1968 - present (recent issues retained in print

(Vital records indexes for 1950 - 2000 available in Archives Reading Room)

Terrebonne Parish and Houma                              

Houma Courier Jan. 2, 1970 - Sept. 11, 1970
  Jan. 18, 1879 - Oct. 30, 1920  (online)
Houma Daily Courier and the Terrebonne Press Sept. 14, 1970 - Oct. 31, 1982
Houma Daily Courier Jan. 2, 1983 - Oct. 30, 1992
The Daily Courier (Houma, La.)

Nov. 1, 1992 - present (recent issues retained in print)

(Vital records indexes for Houma newspapers from 1855- 2015 available in Archives Reading Room)

Assumption Parish

Le pionnier de l'Assomption Sept. 8, 1850 - Dec. 10, 1855 (online)
Pioneer of Assumption Sept. 8, 1850 - Dec. 10, 1855
  June 16, 1877 - Dec. 29, 1894
  June 16, 1877 - Dec. 27, 1879 (online)
Assumption Pioneer

 Jan. 12, 1895 - present (recent issues retained in print)

(Vital records index for Sept. 8, 1850 - Dec. 28, 1912 available in Archives Reading Room)

New Orleans

New Orleans Bee Jan. 1, 1858 - Dec. 30, 1881
New Orleans Democrat Dec. 19, 1875 - Aug. 31, 1876
  Dec. 19, 1875 - Aug. 31, 1876 (online)
New Orleans Evening Democrat Sept. 1, 1876 - Jan. 31, 1877
New Orleans Daily Democrat Feb. 1, 1877 - Mar. 31, 1880
New Orleans Democrat Apr. 1, 1880 - Dec. 3, 1881
New Orleans Times Jan. 1, 1881 - Dec. 3, 1881
Daily Picayune Nov. 1, 1860 - Dec. 23, 1881
  Jan. 26, 1885 - Feb. 3, 1893
  Dec. 5, 1909 - May 11, 1914
Times-Picayune May 13, 1914 - May 31, 1980
Times-Picayune, The States Item June 1, 1980 - Sept. 30, 1986
Times Picayune Oct. 1, 1986 - present (recent issues retained in print)
  Full text of Times-Picayune (1837-1922) available from America's Historical Newspapers

Baton Rouge

Morning Advocate Jan. 1, 1939- Dec. 31 1991
Advocate Jan. 1, 1992 - Oct. 11, 2013 (recent issues retained in print)

State of Louisiana

Progress March 1930 - March 1940

Looking for a title, city, or parish you don't see here?

Check the full list of digitized Louisiana newspapers available online from the Library of Congress (1836-1922).