History
Archivist, Head of Special Collections / Assistant Library Director
Clifton Theriot, CA
Contact:
Office: Ellender Library - Room 110
Phone: 985-448-4621
Email: clifton.theriot@nicholls.edu
Phone: 985-448-4621
Email: clifton.theriot@nicholls.edu
Starting Points: American History
Starting Points: American History
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers–all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new windowRich collections of periodicals detail American history and culture from the
late-17th century through the late-19th century meeting the research
needs of scholars and faculty in specific academic departments. Collections can be searched individually or all at one time - Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowDPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database of more than 32,000 entries, providing a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, this database is the result of a cooperation between EBSCO Publishing and the John Carter Brown Library. The database is created from "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750," and is available to Nicholls free from EBSCO.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new windowHistory Reference Source is the world’s most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books.
- National Register of Historic Places This link opens in a new windowThe National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archaeological resources.
- Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new windowLarge-scale plans of Louisiana cities or towns drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous dumbers.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new windowThis HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we continue to locate and add to the collection.
Web Resources
American History Web Resources
The American National Biography is the premier, authoritative, historical biographical encyclopedia for the United States. Over 18,700 men and women are included, and the resource is updated quarterly with new entries and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. Articles are by established scholars. Living individuals are not included.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A partnership of more than sixty major research institutions with Google, the Hathi Trust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched.
Documenting the American South
From the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hil. A collection of sources on the history, literature and culture of the American south from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.
Produced by the Library of Congress.
Produced by Harvard University.
Selected documents and photographs relating to Emma Goldman's life and work as well as indexes to thousands of other documents and photographs available in collections around the world.
Multimedia database documenting and delivering authoritative audio relevant to American history and politics.
A web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
This site presents historical materials from Abraham Lincoln's Illinois years (1830-1861), including Lincoln's writings and speeches, as well as other materials illuminating antebellum Illinois.
Primary resources for the study of the social history of the United States from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This is a collaborative project between University of Michigan and Cornell University. Access is available to Michigan's pages and to Cornell's.
The Valley of the Shadow, a collaboration between the Virginia Center for Digital History and the University of Virginia Library, explores in detail the life during the American Civil War era in two towns, one Southern and one Northern.