Skip to main content
Ellender Library

Government Information

Federal Government Databases

The Federal Government offers many free databases that search journal articles, conference proceedings, books, etc. 

Federal Government Databases

Science.gov  

This database searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative data, including research and development results. There is also an all-Spanish version Sciencia which has the same breadth and depth of the research as the English database.

ERIC 

ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. If available, links to full text are included. Within the ERIC Collection, you will find records for journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy paper and other education-relation materials.

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) 

The NTRS is a valuable resource for students, educators, researchers, and the public for access to NASA's current and historical technical literature since it was first released in 1994. NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos.

Plants Database 

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.

MedLinePlus 

MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus gives easy access to medical journal articles, also extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.

Market Intelligence

This international marketing database provides statistics and background information for marketing research.  Some of the sources require a login and password, which are free once a researcher is registered. 

NAL Catalog--

Agricultural resources

PDQ-NCI's Comprehensive Database 

Database of cancer information, produced by the National Cancer Institute 

American FactFinder

Census data on cities, counties, and communities

NIH RePORTER 

A database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions

ASSIST 

Database of Specifications and Standards from the Department of Defense

Defense Department--Index to Military Periodicals

Index to periodicals produced by the military

DTIC - Scientific and Technical Information Network

Science and technical data produced by the Department of Defense

EDGAR--Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval System

Economic data from the Federal Reserve

Fed in Print: An Index to Federal Reserve Economic Research

GAO Reports

General Accounting Office. Online via govinfo. 

govinfo

Variety of resources providing access to U.S. government information

Catalog of US Government Publications 

Catalog of government publications produced since the 1870s. Contains many full-text links.

NARA Archival Research Catalog 

Tool for finding archival information with the National Archives and Records Administration.

NCJRS Abstracts (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)

Criminal Justice data from the Department of Justice

Patent and Trademark Databases

U.S. Geological Survey Publications Search

Environmental, geologic data provided by the U.S. Geological Survey

Development Experience Clearinghouse

Data from the U.S. Agency for International Development

Non-Governmental Organization Search

Search the web sites of non-profit government-related organizations