Music
Music Department
Homepage Additional Resources
- Music Department pageHome page for the Music department at Nicholls State University.
- WorldCatWorldCat is catalog of bibliographic records created by libraries who are members of OCLC. This database contains records for millions of items in over 400 languages.
- Interlibrary Loan RequestFor articles or books that the library does not carry electronically or in print. Plan ahead as ILL requests can take up to 3 weeks to receive.
- IPA Source This link opens in a new window IPA Source was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. What started in 2003 as a support site for students in a university diction class has grown into the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web.
IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 12329 titles!
Image
Photograph by Russell Lee, Musicians in Cajun band contest, National Rice Festival, Crowley, Louisiana (October, 1938). Image courtesy of the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs online catalog.
New Books Spring Semester 2017
Cherubino's Leap by Call Number: ML275.3 .K73 2016Publication Date: 2016
Johann Sebastian Bach's Christmas Oratorio by Call Number: ML410 .B13 R287 2016Publication Date: 2016
The Life and Songs of Stephen Foster by Call Number: ML410 .F78 O3 2016Publication Date: 2016
Light Come Shining by Call Number: ML420 .D98 M176 2017Publication Date: 2017
Songs Without Words by Call Number: ML728 .M36 2016Publication Date: 2016
Modernism and Opera by Call Number: ML1705 .M63 2016Publication Date: 2016
Dance and Drama in French Baroque Opera by Call Number: ML1727.2 .H37 2016Publication Date: 2016
Flowing Tides by Call Number: ML3654.7 .C6 O5 2016Publication Date: 2016
Depression Folk by Call Number: ML3917 .U6 C63 2016Publication Date: 2016
Selected Resources
Selection of Reference Resources
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Call Number: ML 100 .N48 2001 v.1-v.29 ReferencePublication Date: 2003Print Resource
Encyclopedia of African American Music by Call Number: ML 101 .U6 E53 2011 v.1-v.3 ReferencePublication Date: 2010eBook
A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinetist by Call Number: ML102 .C54 E45 2015Publication Date: 2014
The Encyclopedia of Film Composers by Call Number: ML102 .M68 H572 2015 ReferencePublication Date: 2015
Dictionary of Music Education by Call Number: ML 102 .M76 C65 2013 ReferencePublication Date: 2013Print Resource
Dictionary for the Modern Singer by Call Number: ML 102 .V6 H63 2014 ReferencePublication Date: 2014Print Resource
Arias, Ensembles, and Choruses by Call Number: ML 128 .V7 Y34 2012 ReferencePublication Date: 2011Print Resource
The Musical Instrument Desk Reference by Call Number: ML 460 .P313 2012Publication Date: 2012
A Dictionary for the Modern Conductor by Call Number: Reference ML102 .C64 B76 2015Publication Date: 2015
database
Language Database
Ludwig van Beethoven. Sonata für Hammerklavier ...
[Sonata in E-major, Op. 109]. Autograph keyboard score. (Gertrude Clarke Whittall Foundation Collection)
Detail. To view the entire leaf, click on the image.
- Vision: aus dem Leben von Hildegard von Bingen byCall Number: DVD 589
New Reference Book
New Reference Book
- The Encyclopedia of Film Composers by Call Number: ML102 .M68 H572 2015 ReferencePublication Date: 2015
The Bible in Music by Call Number: ML102 .C5 L66 2015 ReferencePublication Date: 2015
Dictionary for the Modern Trumpet Player by Call Number: ML102 .T78 K64 2015Publication Date: 2015
Gfts: Scores 2917
Scores 2017: Gifts
- Earthen vessels : Music from St Louis Jesuits byCall Number: M1999 .S25 E3Publication Date: 1975
- Requiem [pour] choeurs a 4 voix (S.A.T.B. byCall Number: M2011 .D87 R47 1948Publication Date: 1948
- Joy, and other sublime aspirations : contemporary music for liturgy and other occasions byCall Number: M2153 .B458 1970Publication Date: 1970
Librarian
Music Business and Careers
Music Business and Careers
All You Need to Know about the Music Business by Call Number: ML 3790 .P35 2013Publication Date: 2012Print Resource
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by Call Number: ML 3795 .B33 2013 ReferencePublication Date: 2012Print Resource
Performance Art Encyclopedia
- Performance Arts EncyclopediaWelcome Message from the Librarian of Congress
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
New Books January 2017
New Books November 2017
When the World Stopped to Listen:Van Cliburn's Cold War triumph, and its aftermath First edition. by Call Number: ML417 .C67 I83 2017Publication Date: 2017
Language of the Spirit by Call Number: MT90 .S99 2017Publication Date: 2017
The Percussionist's Art by Call Number: MT90 .S286 2006Publication Date: 2017
Gifts of CDs & DVDs
Gifts of CDs & DVDs
- Songs of travel : poems of Robert Louis Stevenson ; Tired ; Two poems of W. Barnes ; Four poems by Fredegond Shove ; House of life : poems of Dante Gabriel Rosetti byCall Number: CD 1292Publication Date: 1986
- A clockwork orange byCall Number: DVD 626 2 videodiscsPublication Date: 1999
- Title The French connection ; French connection II byCall Number: DVD 645 2 videodiscsPublication Date: 2010