Skip to main content

Musical Instruments Collection: Home

Third floor of Ellender Memorial Library

Welcome to the Musical Instrument Collection

Welcome to the Ellender Library Musical Instruments Collection

 

The Musical Instruments Collection supports the study of music by making instruments available for use by members of the Nicholls community.

The Collection is able to be toured and can host classes, as well as allowing individuals to check out materials by appointment for use in the library. The Collection also supports musical programming including lectures, concerts, and recitals. 

To view a complete list of the instruments available for use, see the Musical Instruments Collection Department Brochure.

Special Events

Thibodaux Music Club April Meeting

Wednesday, April 6, 2016 at 10:00 a.m.

Musical entertainment, Gerard Lombardo, guitar (student of the Biological Sciences)

Including in the agenda will be the adoption of a resolution

in remembrance of highly regarded, long-time Music Club member, Gibbens Robichaux.

Ivana Brooks, soprano (student of Music Department) and Casey Haynes, piano, (faculty of the Music Department) will give the pleasure to perform for this special occasion.

Into the Night by Clara Edwards
Volta la terrea by Giuseppe Verdi
Au bord de l'eau by Gabriel Fauré
Der hölle rache by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Love is Where You Find It by Nacio Herb Brown

 

 

Noon Recital November 3, 2015

Mini Concert and Master Class organized by Dr. Valerie Francis

Chauncey Packer, Tenor and Dr. Wilfred Delphin, Piano

Wednesday, April 13, 2016 at noon

Musical Instrument Collection, 3rd floor or Ellender Memorial Library

Student performance Recital

Alayna Matassa, Soprano

Accompanied by Dr. Ivan Koska, Piano

Tuesday, April 12, 2016 at noon

Program

So last mich scheiden,  Franz Schubert

Nur we die Sehnsucht kennt, Franz Schubert

Consolati, espera, Alessandro Scarlatti

Care Selve, Georg Frederic Handel

Nuit d'Etoiles, Claude Debussy

The green dog, Herbert Kingsly

On my Own from Les Miserable, Claude-Michael Schonberg

Alayna is a student of Dr. Kenneth Klaus

 

 

Student Performance Recital

Elena Minkova (violin), Wagner Duarte (cello), Rafael Moderato (violin), and Benita Dzhurkova (violin).

​Accompanied by Dr. Ivan Koska, Piano

Tuesday, April 19, 2016 at noon

Program

Will be announced

 

Students of James Alexander, Lecturer of Violin and Viola, string Studies 

Library Co-Director

Anke Tonn's picture
Anke Tonn
Contact:
Ellender Memorial Library
Nicholls State University
Thibodaux, LA 70301

(985) 448-4633/4647

picture