Research Process
Introduction for finding sources
Finding Sources
Use the key search terms you have gathered to begin finding scholarly sources.
Types of Sources
Finding Information on your Topic
Articles
Scholarly journals can offer insights and commentary on the most current developments in a given field. Use our databases to look for a specific topic across a range of journals.
Books
Books offer lengthier, in-depth discussions on a specific topic, as well as bibliographies which may provide additional sources for your research. Books and eBooks can be located through the library catalog.
Web Resources
Government websites, museum websites, news sites, and organizational websites can provide information for research papers, but be sure to evaluate these source for accuracy and bias. Check out this video to improve your Google searching skills.
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
Secondary Sources
Studies by researchers that describe, analyze, and interpret data found in primary sources to make information more accessible. Examples of secondary sources include books, articles, encyclopedias, and dictionaries.
Original works such as manuscripts, diaries, oral histories, statistical information, surveys, speeches, and government documents. These represent original thinking, reports on discoveries, or the ideas of a specific time and/or place.
To find primary sources in Ellender Library, consult Archives and Special Collections and Government Information.
Subject Guide link
Stuck for an idea on your class assignment?
Have an idea but not sure where to start?
Just want to know the best sources for your field?
Starting your research with your discipline-specific subject guide is always a good idea!
ENGL Database graphics
Credo Reference
Your research starter guide! 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts
JSTOR Text Analyzer
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources. The Text Analyzer is a new way to search JSTOR: upload your own text or document, Text Analyzer processes the text to find the most significant topics and then recommends similar content on JSTOR.
Literary Reference Center
Provides a broad spectrum of research info on thousands of authors and their works. More than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews. More than 250,000 author bios. More than 7,400 classic novels. More than 460 literary journals.
Gale Literary Sources
Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Additional Resources
Additional Resources
- Interlibrary Loan RequestFor articles or books that the library does not carry electronically or in print. Plan ahead as ILL requests can take up to 3 weeks to receive.
- LOUIS CardA LOUIS card allows students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials directly from participating Louisiana institutions. Must be applied for in-person.
- WorldCatWorldCat is catalog of bibliographic records created by libraries who are members of OCLC. This database contains records for millions of items in over 400 languages.
Credit for Page
This page was created by Magen Nosworthy (Fall 2018 ENGL 489)