Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Home

Welcome Text

Welcome to the Archives and Special Collections Department

The Archives and Special Collections department at Nicholls State University includes university records as well as collections relating to the history and culture of southeastern Louisiana. The collections are comprised of unique primary documents, such as diaries, correspondence, photographs, maps, drawings, ledgers, oral histories, and scrapbooks, as well as local newspapers, rare books, and Ellender Library's Louisiana Book Collection.

Hours and Contact Information

Location

We are located on the first floor of Ellender Library, immediately to the right as you enter the building.
Look for the double doors and archives signs.

Hours

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Appointments are encouraged but not necessary

Mailing Address

Archives & Special Collections
Ellender Memorial Library

P.O. Box 2028
Thibodaux, LA 70310

 

Department Staff

Clifton Theriot
     Head of Archives and Special Collections
Helen Thomas
     Assistant Archivist
Emilie Pitre
     Library Specialist 3

Photo Gallery

Donating Materials to the Archives

Mission Statement

The mission of the Archives and Special Collections Department of the Ellender Memorial Library is to serve as a repository for primary and secondary material relating to the geographical, historical, political and cultural uniqueness of Louisiana, primarily South Central Louisiana; to support the instructional, research and service programs of the University; and to provide a written, oral and pictorial record of the University. 

By promoting interest in the history of this area and by procuring, organizing, preserving and providing access to material documenting this history, the Archives and Special Collections Department aids the Library and the University in their commitment to strengthen the social and cultural infrastructure of this region.  For the purpose of preservation, the collection also contains non-regional rare and/or significant monographs and other media from a variety of disciplines.  

Archivist, Head of Special Collections / Library Co-Director

Clifton Theriot, CA
Contact:
Office: Ellender Library - Room 110
Phone: 985-448-4621
Email: clifton.theriot@nicholls.edu

Helen's Profile

Helen Thomas
Contact:
Office: Ellender Library, Room 148
Phone: (985) 448-4644
Email: helen.thomas@nicholls.edu