Skip to main content

DIET 450

*

Start your research here! 

The databases listed below are suggested as pathways to find evidence-based articles for your research for DIET 450.  Tips and tricks on searching databases using boolean searching are included below.  Please contact me if you need any help with searching, citing, or anything else research-related! 

Elizabeth Layton's picture
Elizabeth Layton
Contact:
Library
Office 220
985-448-4661
Website

How to Search for Articles Using Databases

How to search for articles in databases

Databases are a great place to start your search for scholarly articles since they provide the opportunity to search across a huge number of publications at once. A list of databases relevant to culinary topics and themes can be found at the bottom of this page. 

TIP: When using the databases, try BOOLEAN searching. 

Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT. Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects.

These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms. In EBSCO databases, you can find Boolean terms in drop down menus to the left of the fields where you enter your search terms.

Adding OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.  
If you use NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.  
 

Suggested databases to find articles for your research: 

Access Librarian

Elizabeth Layton's picture
Elizabeth Layton
Contact:
Library
Office 220
985-448-4661
Website

Useful Links

Useful Links