Business Administration

How to Search the Databases

Databases are a great place to start your search for scholarly articles since they provide the opportunity to search across a huge number of publications at once. A list of databases relevant to Business Administration can be found at the bottom of this page. 

TIP: When using the databases, try BOOLEAN searching. 

Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT. Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects.

These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms. In EBSCO databases, you can find Boolean terms in drop down menus to the left of the fields where you enter your search terms.

Adding OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.  
If you use NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.   

Subject Headings

• Business Administration
• Corporate Management
• Human Capital
• Human Resources
• Industrial Management
• Management
• Management Games

Search the Discovery Database 

Reference

Getting started: use these databases to learn more about your topic.

Fondly known as "Wikipedia for Academics," Credo's Literati is a great place to begin your research, particularly for topics you aren't very familiar with. Use this resource to search multiple reference books (dictionaries, thesauri, handbooks, etc.) at once, or search in a particular book listed below.

CQ Researcher is the place to begin for your persuasive or point/counterpoint papers or speech topics. Use this resource to get information on current controversial topics.

Databases for Business