LGBTQIA+ Studies
Your Librarian
LGBT Primary Sources
LGBT Online Primary Source Resources
Find digitized and born-digital materials related to transgender history. Information on archival holdings across institutions is also included. More details can be found in a PBS interview with the founder of the digital archive.
Read transcripts and view videos from this collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power (New York).
Learn about the "home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities." The physical archives are located in New York, but some resources available online at this site include newsletters sent out by the archives and some digital collections.
LGBT materials in the New York Public Library
Digitized photographs, images, and other materials from the New York Public Library's extensive LGBT collections.
ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives
Online access to some of the collections from one of the largest repositories of LGBTQ materials.
Stonewell and Beyond: Lesbian and Gay Culture
Discover materials from Columbia University Library's 1994 exhibit for "Stonewall 25," the international celebration of the 25th anniversary of the U.S. gay and lesbian civil rights movement.
Find digitized issues covering 1980-1989 of the San Francisco Sentinel weekly newspaper, from the UC Berkeley Library.
Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony
Contains oral history audio and video recordings, radio and television programs, and associated materials.
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Contains alternative LGBT newspapers of the 1960s and '70s. See the Titles page for the names of accessible newspapers.
Contains documents, oral histories, and images pertaining to LGBT history, as well as contextual essays.