MACO 251
A guide to the world of News Printing
Librarian
Course Objective
This guide provides resources to help students become familiar with legal and ethical concerns that affect the mass media and free-speech rights in general.
Subject Headings
The following are a few Library of Congress subject headings that you may find useful in a "Subject" search in a catalog:
Broadcasting policy -- United States
Freedom of information -- United States
Mass media -- Law and legislation -- United States
Mass media policy -- United States
Press law -- United States
Telecommunication -- Law and legislation -- United States
Related keyword searches include:
Broadcasting Law
Communication Law
Mass Communication Law
"Mass Media"
Telecommunication Law
Books
Media Regulation, Public Interest and the Law by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780748621668Publication Date: 2006-07-10
Media Law, Ethics, and Policy in the Digital Age by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781522520955Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Defending the First by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780805849257Publication Date: 2005-06-02
Deciding Communication Law by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780805846980Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Mass Communication Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF2750.Z9 M37 2007ISBN: 9780314160201Publication Date: 2008-01-09
Hot Topics
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world’s most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher Plus Archive offers researchers access to an expanded database of reports extending as far back as 1923. It provides users with original, comprehensive reporting on issues in a balanced, unbiased manner, along with tools to study how these topics have changed over time.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers–all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni contains over 15,000 sources useful for General News, Business, and Law research. It provides access to legal publications, including cases, statues, law reviews and legal journals.
- Legal Source This link opens in a new windowProviding indexing and full-text coverage of the most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Source is the authoritative database for current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. It is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law.