History
Archivist, Head of Special Collections / Assistant Library Director
Phone: 985-448-4621
Email: clifton.theriot@nicholls.edu
Starting Points: World History
Starting Points: World History
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world’s most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowBiography Resource Center provides access to award-winning GaleGroup reference sources and includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database of more than 32,000 entries, providing a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, this database is the result of a cooperation between EBSCO Publishing and the John Carter Brown Library. The database is created from "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750," and is available to Nicholls free from EBSCO.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new windowHistory Reference Source is the world’s most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowJSTOR’s Arts and Sciences Collections offer full-text access to hundred of titles in many disciplines of the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, business and education.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new windowThe Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new windowThis HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we continue to locate and add to the collection.
World History Resources
Internet African History Sourcebook
Extensive collection of sources on the history of human societies in the continent of Africa.
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range or topic.
Testimonies, videos, audio, photographs, documents, and interactive maps about the 1994 genocide as well as post-genocide reconstruction efforts in Rwanda
Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
Subject listing of documents from East Asian history. Includes cultural origins; religious traditions; imperial China; western intrusion; Japan as a world power; and others.
Internet Indian History Sourcebook
Texts documenting the history of India. Topics include the formation of religious traditions; medieval India; Muslim-era India; western intrusion; and others.
World Digital Library: Central and South Asia
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.
World Digital Library: East Asia
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.
Search or browse more than 60 newspaper titles. Date coverage varies by title, but inclusive dates are 1803-1954.
Documenting a Democracy: Australia's Story
Website tells the story of Australia through the documents which gave the national, state and territory governments the right to govern.
National Archives of Australia
Primary source Australian history documents.
Photographs, films and dissertations, documenting aspects of the cultures and peoples of the Pacific Islands, with a strong emphasis on Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands. (1919-1989)
World Digital Library: Oceania & the Pacific
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in the left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.
A digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
One of the best places to start for all time periods of European history. Extensive collection of primary sources and links to other sites. Browse by broad era (prehistory/ancient, medieval/renaissance, modern) or by country.
Digital archive of the London (1665- ), Edinburgh (1797- ) and Belfast (1922- ) Gazettes.
Internet Library of Early Journals
Digital editions of six 18th- and 19th-century journals: Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
List of online exhibitions; browse by name or historical period. Includes selections dating from 1066 through the 20th century.
Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
More than 1200 images, most of them dating from the period of slavery, that depict the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.
Biblioteca Digital Mexicana (Mexican Digital Library)
A small digital collection of historical documents, dating from 500 to 1949.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
These pamphlets document the emergence of the Latin American colonies as independent states, and illuminate many aspects of their populations' social and cultural life. Many pamphlets are devoted to boundary disputes, territorial expansion, the description of unexplored territories and the relationship between Church and State.
SALALM Digital Primary Resources
World Digital Library: Latin America & the Caribbean
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.
Documents recovered during the raid on the compound used to hide Usama bin Ladin. The release contains two sections: a list of non-classified, English-language material found in and around the compound; and a selection of now-declassified documents.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Texts that document Islamic history. Topics include Islamic expansion and empire; the Ottomans; expansion to India, China and the East Indies; the western intrusion; and others.
A digital collection of manuscripts, maps and printed texts from Harvard’s library and museum collections. IHP materials date from the 13th to the 20th centuries CE and represent many regions, languages and subjects.
Israel's Foreign Policy - Historical Documents
Published by the Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs, these are documents (official statements, press conferences, interview, letters, etc.) relating to Israel's foreign relations from 1947-2004.
World Digital Library: Middle East & North Africa
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.
A small number of documents, dating from 1670-1931.
Includes texts and links to other sources for Russian history.
Seventeen Moments in Soviet History
Collection of texts, images, maps and audio and video materials from the Soviet era (1917-1991). The materials are arranged by year and by subject, are fully searchable, and are translated into English. Topics include Soviet propaganda, politics, economics, society, crime, literature, art, dissidents and more.
Digital History Reader: European History
Explores links between European and world history in the late nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Click on the "Evidence" link within each module to view primary source documents.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
One of the best places to start for all time periods of European history. Extensive collection of primary sources and links to other sites. Browse by broad era (prehistory/ancient, medieval/renaissance, modern) or by country.
German History in Documents and Images*
GHDI is a comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present.
"Propaganda was central to Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic. The German Propaganda Archive includes both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists."
French Revolution Digital Archive
A digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française.
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource