Government Information

Department of Applied Sciences

Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET)

Atlas: The Louisiana Statewide GIS: The Louisiana Atlas web site makes available to the public data and information related to GIS in Louisiana, GIS data documentation, and data sharing on the World Wide Web. This page is currently maintained by the CADGIS Research Laboratory at LSU in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, a lab supported by the LSU College of Art and Design and the LSU Department of Geography and Anthropology. The CADGIS Lab teaches computer-based courses and facilitates research in the areas of computer aided design (CAD) and geographic information systems (GIS).

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR): An annual compilation of federal agency administrative rules and regulations that were first published in the Federal Register.

Federal Register: Official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of federal agencies and organizations as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. 1994-Present. 

Data.gov Geospatial: Geospatial data and services. 

Maps and Geographical Information: Produced by the Louisiana State Census Data Center

Perry Castaneda Library Map Collection

Science.gov

Department of Biological Sciences

AgriCola

Agricultural Statistics: Agricultural Statistics is published each year to meet the diverse need for a reliable reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.

AmberWaves: The economics of food, farming, natural resources and rural America.

Biological Abstracts

Census of Agriculture: Leading source of facts and figures on American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them.

Drugs@FDA: Information on FDA-approved prescription, over-the-counter, and discontinued drug products.

MedlinePlus: MedlinePlus, a service of the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, provides information on diseases, conditions, and wellness in easy to understand language for patients and their family and friends.

National Center for Health Statistics: Provides quick and easy access to a wide range of data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing.

National Invasive Species Information Center: The National Agriculture Library’s gateway to invasive species information covering federal, state, local and international sources. Includes fact sheets, reports, image galleries, regulations, publications, etc.

PLANTS Database: From the U.S. Department of Agriculture, provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Marine Biology

National Wetlands Inventory: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service-Series of topical maps to show wetlands and deepwater habitats.

NOAA Fisheries: Marine Biology resources from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Ocean Portal: Marine Biology resources from the Smithsonian.

Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium: LUMCON was formed to increase society’s awareness of the environmental, economic, and cultural value of Louisiana’s coastal and marine environments by conducting research and education programs directly relevant to Louisiana’s needs in marine science and coastal resources and serving as a facility for all Louisiana schools with interest in marine research and education.

MarineBio: Wide variety of resources dealing with marine biology. 

NOAA Institutional Repository: The National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration's digital library contains NOAA publications from numerous subsets of NOAA, including the National Ocean Service and National Marine Fisheries Service. Includes technical reports and memoranda.

National Sea Grant Library: The NSGL is the digital library for NOAA’s Sea Grant documents.  It includes numerous subjects including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law. 

GBIF GBIF is an information system developed by the U.S. Geological Survey's Core Science Analytics and Synthesis Program that allows users to access, explore, and download U.S. species occurrence data from participating data providers.

Marine Fisheries Review

National Centers for Environmental Information

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

ORNL Computer Science and Mathematics Division

National Technical Reports Library

Science.gov

Petroleum Engineering Technology and Safety Management

Office of Oil and Natural Gas: Part of the U.S. Department of Energy

LOGA: Louisiana Oil and Gas Association

Gasoline and Diesel Fuel Update: Gasoline and diesel fuel information, data and analysis from the Energy Information Administration.

OSTI.gov: Responsible for collecting, preserving, and disseminating the research of the Department of Energy (DOE).

OSHA: Occupational Healthy and Safety Administration

Science.gov

Department of Physical Sciences

NASA: Official Site

NASA Astrophysics Data System: A digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.

NASA Scientific & Technical Information (STO) Program: Functions to collect, organize, provide access and preserve NASA’s research and development published results.

NIST Chemistry Web Book: This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.

PubChem: PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH’s Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, na dPCBioAssay, respectively.

Explore Census Data: Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Bureau of Economic Analysis: Source of U.S. economic statistics including national income and product accounts (NIPAs), gross domestic produce (GDP) and related measures of national, regional, industry, and international accounts. 

Bureau of Labor Statistics: The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the field of labor, economics, and statistics. 

BusinessUSA: A tool from the U.S. government to help small businesses quickly connect to the services and information that is relevant to them. 

Economic Census: Produced by the U.S. Census Bureau every five years, the economic census profiles American businesses from the local to the national level.

Economic Report of the President:  Annual report, written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors, overviews the nation's economic progress

Economy at a Glance: The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides data on labor force, wages and salaries, and consumer price index by state, region, or industry.

EDGAR: Produced by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. This is the system through which all companies are required to submit registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms.

E-Stats: Measuring the Electronic Economy: U.S. Census Bureau site devoted exclusively to "Measuring the Electronic Economy."

Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER): Site consists of over forty thousand pages of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents. 

Internal Revenue Service

International Trade Administration: The International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens te competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements. 

Louisiana Demographics: Census Data Center: Easy access to Zip Code, Census Tract, Congressional District, Metro Area, Block Group and Block Information in Louisiana Census Facts. 

LA Works: Gives information about labor market as well as requirements in security, compensation, insurance, labor laws, workplace safety, etc. 

SBA Office of Women's Business Ownership: The Office of Women's Business Ownership's mission is to establish and oversee a network of Women's Business Centers (WBCs) throughout the United States. 

Small Business State Profiles: The Office of Advocacy's Small Business Profiles for the States supply data on small businesses in each state.

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids: Ben’s Guide provides learning tools for K-12 students, parents and teachers. These resources will teach how our government works and the use of the primary source materials of the Government Printing Office (GPO).

The Condition of Education: A congressionally mandated annual report that summarizes important trends and developments in education.

Digest of Education Statistics: Produced by NCES and is a statistical complication on education from prekindergarten through graduate school.

Doing What Works: From the U.S. Department of Education, has resources to help educators and administrators organize their teaching and improve student learning.

EDSITEment: A resource for teachers, students, and parents searching for quality material in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center): ERIC is the world’s largest digital library of education literature.

Louisiana Board of Regents

Louisiana Department of Education

Louisiana Resource Center for Teachers

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES): NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Southern Regional Education Board: The Southern Regional Education Board works with 16 member states to improve public education at every level, from pre-K through Ph.D. SREB is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization headquartered in Atlanta. Member states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia.

Teacher Resources: From the Library of Congress

U.S. Department of Education

What Works Clearinghouse: Provided by IES or the Institute of Education Science to serve as a central and trusted source of scientific evidence for what works in education.

Department of Allied Health Sciences

Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center: The largest of USDA’s human nutrition research facilities. The center’s mission is to define, through research, the role of food and its components in optimizing human health.

ChooseMyPlate.gov: Provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, gives dietary guidelines, food plans, nutritional information, and much more.

CDC Nutrition: Compilation of resources by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to help people make better food choices and learn about nutrition.

Food and Nutrition Information Center: From the U.S. Department of Agriculture, this resources provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.

Food Safety: A gateway to food safety information provided by government agencies.

Lifecycle Nutrition: The National Agricultural Library’s Food and Nutrition Information Center provides information on infants, children, adolescents, pregnancy, breastfeeding, aging, fitness and sports, and vegetarian nutrition.

Louisiana Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition: Louisiana’s professional board responsible for consumer protection through the regulation of dietetics and nutrition practices.

MedlinePlus: MedlinePlus, a service of the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, provides information on diseases, conditions, and wellness in easy to understand language for patients and their family and friends.

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD): NIDCD conducts and supports research on normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, taste, smell, voice, speech, and language.

National Agricultural Library: Publications from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Covers a variety of nutrition and dietary topics.

Nutrition.gov: U.S. Department of Agriculture’s consumer page on nutrition, food safety, dietary supplements and more.

President's Council on Sports, Fitness & Nutrition (PCSFN)

USDA Economics and Statistics System

USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference

Department of Nursing

ATSDR Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry: A Federal publc health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services based in Atlanta, Georgia.

Cancer Statistics: Information from the National Cancer Institute on cancer statistics. Includes reports of cancer rates and trends, a statistics glossary, and data tools.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: The CDC aims to protect the health of people and communities through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability and preparedness for new health threats.

Drug Information Portal: Produced by the National Library of Medicine as serves as a gateway to current drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other government agencies.

Drugs@FDA: Information about FDA-approved prescription, over-the-counter, and discontinued drug products.

FastStats Health Statistics A-Z: The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

HealthFinder.gov: Healthfinder.gov features reliable and up-to-date health information from government and non-profit organizations.

HRSA Nursing Scholarship Program: The Health Resources and Services Administration of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services administers a scholarship program which aims to alleviate the shortage of nurses in certain types of health care facilities.

Louisiana Department of Health: The mission of the Department of Health is to protect and promote health and to ensure access to medical, preventive, and rehabilitative services for all citizens of the state of Louisiana.

Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners: Online verification system that allows user to view information about a variety of professionals in the medical field.

Louisiana State Board of Nursing

MedlinePlus: MedlinePlus, a service of the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, provides information on diseases, conditions, and wellness in easy to understand language for patients and their family and friends.

National Center for Health Statistics: The National Center for Health Statistics provides quick and easy access to a wide range of information and data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing.

National Guideline Clearinghouse: Is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ) that provides objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines.

National Health Information Center (NHIC): NHIC is a health information referral service that links users to organizations that provide reliable health information.

National Institute of Nursing Research: Research reports for nursing. Produced by the National Institutes of Health. 

Parish Health Profiles: Provides information that will support data driven planning and implementation of health policies and interventions to improve health outcomes for Louisiana and its communities.

SAMHSA's National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information: Material for the patient/consumer as well as the health care professional. 

What's Cooking? USDA Mixing Bowl: Cooking information and recipes from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Recipes from Nutrition.gov: Healthy and nutritious recipes from the USDA.

FoodSafety.gov: Information on cooking and caring for food safely.

ChooseMyPlate.gov: Cookbooks and recipes for healthy eating.

Chefs and Head Cooks: Employment outlook for chefs and head cooks. Produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.