Economics
Your guide to all things economics.
Your Librarian
Welcome!
Welcome to the Economics subject guide!
Use the tabs to see resources the library has to offer in Economics.
Subject Headings to Help Your Search
Subject Headings
- Capitalism
- Economic Development
- Economic Theory
- Economics
- Macroeconomics
- Microeconomics
- Supply and Demand
- Monetary Policy
- Price inflation
Reference Books
Reference
Use these databases and books for background information to learn more about your topic.
Fondly known as "Wikipedia for Academics," Credo Reference is a great place to begin your research, particularly for topics you aren't very familiar with. Use this resource to search multiple reference books (dictionaries, thesauri, handbooks, etc.) at once, or search in a particular book listed below.
CQ Researcher is the place to begin for your persuasive or point/counterpoint papers or speech topics. Use this resource to get information on current controversial topics.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher Plus Archive offers researchers access to an expanded database of reports extending as far back as 1923. It provides users with original, comprehensive reporting on issues in a balanced, unbiased manner, along with tools to study how these topics have changed over time.
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information by Call Number: Z7164.C81 S7796 2012 ReferencePublication Date: 2012Print Resource
Economics by ISBN: 9780192853455Publication Date: 2007Economics has the capacity to offer us deep insights into some of the most formidable problems of life, and offer solutions to them too. Combining a global approach with examples from everyday life, Partha Dasgupta describes the lives of two children who live very different lives in different parts of the world: in the Mid-West USA and in Ethiopia. He compares the obstacles facing them, and the processes that shape their lives, their families, and their futures. He shows how economics uncovers these processes, finds explanations for them, and how it forms policies and solutions. Along the way, Dasgupta provides an intelligent and accessible introduction to key economic factors and concepts such as individual choices, national policies, efficiency, equity, development, sustainability, dynamic equilibrium, property rights, markets, and public goods.
Useful Links
Useful Links
- College of Business AdministrationThe College of Business Administration website at Nicholls State University.
Textbook Initiative
Textbook Initiative
The Library has placed copies of most General Education course books at the Reserves desk on the 2nd floor. The books can be checked out for a 4-hour period. This includes novels used in Literature classes: ENGL 211, 212, 215, 216, & 217.
Instructions: Choose your search method from the drop down menu: Course Name (ex. English), Course ID (ex. ENGL 215), or Instructor name (ex. Duet). Click "Search" to be taken to a list of items that we have available.