Geomatics
Geomatics Librarian
Other Options
-
Interlibrary Loan RequestFor articles or books that the library does not carry electronically or in print. Plan ahead as ILL requests can take up to 3 weeks to receive.
-
LOUIS CardA LOUIS card allows students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials directly from participating Louisiana institutions. Must be applied for in-person.
-
WorldCatWorldCat is catalog of bibliographic records created by libraries who are members of OCLC. This database contains records for millions of items in over 400 languages.
Search for Journal Articles
How to Search for Articles Using Databases
Databases are a great place to start your search for scholarly articles since they provide the opportunity to search across a huge number of publications at once. A list of databases relevant to geomatics can be found at the bottom of this page.
TIP: When using the databases, try BOOLEAN searching.
Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT. Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects.
These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms. In EBSCO databases, you can find Boolean terms in drop down menus to the left of the fields where you enter your search terms.
Adding OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.
If you use NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.
Search the following databases to find articles for your research:
Geomatics Databases
- Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new windowThis database includes access to the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts. The database includes access to full-text articles published in scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowThis leading full-text database offers extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowGeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 3 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE is an informative resource focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.
- Jet Propulsion Laboratory Technical Report Server This link opens in a new windowThe Jet Propulsion Laboratory Technical Report Server is a repository for digital copies of technical publications authored by JPL employees. It includes preprints, meeting papers, journal articles and other publications cleared for external distribution from 1992 to the present.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowJSTOR’s Arts and Sciences Collections offer full-text access to hundred of titles in many disciplines of the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, business and education.
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni contains over 15,000 sources useful for General News, Business, and Law research. It provides access to legal publications, including cases, statues, law reviews and legal journals.
- OnePetro This link opens in a new windowOnePetro is an online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry. With contributions from 20 publishing partners and providing access to over 180,000 items, OnePetro.org is the definitive resource on upstream oil and gas.
- Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new windowLarge-scale plans of Louisiana cities or towns drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous dumbers.
- Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of top science journals. It covers an array of scientific and technical subjects, including chemistry, biology, computer technology and physics.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window(Users must first register here.)
Scifinder-n is a database from Chemical Abstracts Service offering electronic access to Chemical Abstracts, which contains the largest substance database, CAS Registry, with more than 122 million substances. It is also the world's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents, containing the most current information, with daily updating by CAS scientists. - TRID-the TRIS and ITRD Database This link opens in a new windowTRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Search Tips
"Tips and tricks" tutorials for more efficient searching.
ALWAYS refer to the searching help of the database you are using.
(dogs or canines) Use OR to increase retrieval
(dogs and canines) Use AND to limit retrieval
((dogs or canines) NOT felines) Use NOT to severely limit retrieval
TRUNCATION
To capture variant forms of word endings, determine the stem of the word and follow it with the database truncation symbol, usually an asterisk (*). This is particularly useful to retrieve singular and plural forms of a word.
ALWAYS refer to the searching help of the database you are using.
Example: librar* will retrieve: library, libraries, librarian, librarianship, etc.
WILDCARDS
Some databases will allow the insertion of a special character in the middle of a word in order to retrieve variant spellings of a word. This is particularly useful to retrieve American and British terms.
ALWAYS refer to the searching help of the database you are using.
Example: colo#r will retrieve: color or colour