PETSM
PETSM Librarian
Additional Resources
- Interlibrary Loan RequestFor articles or books that the library does not carry electronically or in print. Plan ahead as ILL requests can take up to 3 weeks to receive.
- LOUIS CardA LOUIS card allows students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials directly from participating Louisiana institutions. Must be applied for in-person.
- WorldCatWorldCat is catalog of bibliographic records created by libraries who are members of OCLC. This database contains records for millions of items in over 400 languages.
OnePetro
What is OnePetro? OnePetro is an online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry. With contributions from 18 publishing partners and providing access to over 160,000 items, OnePetro.org is the definitive resource on upstream oil and gas. Access to OnePetro is available to the general public and full-text articles and technical content can be obtained online through individual purchase or subscription.
- Extensive Body of Knowledge. One of the most comprehensive resources available on upstream oil and gas.
- Round the Clock Availability. 24/7 direct access to full-text literature and content items.
- Familiar, User-Friendly Search. Basic and advanced search options.
- Multi-Organizational Library. One location for industry professionals to find answers to technical questions.
Other Databases Related to PETSM
- Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new windowThis database includes access to the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts. The database includes access to full-text articles published in scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowThis leading full-text database offers extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowGeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 3 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Among the subjects covered in GeoRef are: environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE is an informative resource focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.
- OSHA.gov This link opens in a new windowWith the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, Congress created the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) to assure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.
- Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of top science journals. It covers an array of scientific and technical subjects, including chemistry, biology, computer technology and physics.
- Shock & Vibration Digest This link opens in a new windowThis bibliographic database provides records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration. Topics include noise, vibration technologies, seismology, experimental mechanics, engineering and other relevant areas.
Databases
How to Search for Articles Using Databases
Databases are a great place to start your search for scholarly articles since they provide the opportunity to search across a huge number of publications at once. A list of databases relevant to PETSM can be found at the bottom of this page.
TIP: When using the databases, try BOOLEAN searching.
Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT. Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects.
These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms. In EBSCO databases, you can find Boolean terms in drop down menus to the left of the fields where you enter your search terms.
Adding OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.
If you use NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.