Skip to main content
Ellender Library

Government Information: Government Information Sorted by Subject

Government Information by Subject

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Home Page--news, information, search option, etc.

How to get Information from the USDA List of online services provided by the USDA.

2012 Census of Agriculture National, State, and County information.

Agricultural Research Service News, press releases, etc.

Farmland Information Library A one-stop shop for farmland protection and land use resources. Funded by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service

Forest Service Research Publications Find links to General Technical Reports, Resource Bulletins, Research Notes, and Research Papers from a wide variety of disciplines

National Agriculture Library

National Agriculture Library Online Catalog, AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access).

NAL Digital Repository Historical collection of materials from the USDA. Includes color images.

National Resources Inventory--The National Resources Inventory (NRI) is a statistically based sample of land use and natural resource conditions and trends on U.S. nonfederal lands. A summary and highlights are available in html. The complete report is available in pdf format.

National Agricultural Statistics Service

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Employment Characteristics of Families Data gathered from the Census Bureau's Current Population Survey 

Producer Price Index News Releases and Data 

Productivity and Costs Includes quarterly productivity data in the business and nonfarm business sectors and in manufacturing, and nonfinancial corporations. 

Real Earnings Includes data for real average weekly earnings collected from payroll reports of private nonfarm establishments. 

Usual Weekly Earnings of Wage and Salary Workers Quarterly data

Houma-Thibodaux Economic Statistics:  Economic information for the Houma-Thibodaux region. Includes Consumer Price Index, Employment and Unemployment, and Compensation and Working Conditions. 

Federal Reserve

Fed in Print An online catalog of research publications from all of the Federal Reserve Banks

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve Main site for the Federal Reserve

Federal Reserve Economic Education Education materials related to economics

Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, New Orleans branch

Beige Book Current economic condtions for every federal reserve district

FRED Contains over 3,000 economic time series, which include regional data, down to the county and MSA level

ALFRED Contains economic data for specific dates in history

FRASER Provides access to digitized economic documents from the federal government and the Federal Reserve System

Agency Assistance for Businesses

Small Business Administration The one-stop electronic link to government for business." Includes how-to pages, answers to common questions, news, and a search page. Find out here how to do business with the federal government, how to get a passport, how to address your mail properly, and much more

Business Affairs at the State Department Explore this site if you are interested in doing business overseas

Bureau of Economic Analysis

BEA Home Page for "the nation's economic accountant, preparing estimates that illuminate key national, international, and regional aspects of the U.S. economy"

Research at BEA Links to BEA publications.

Regional Data

Survey of Current Business

United States Patents and Trademarks

United States Patent and Trademark Office Contains complete information regarding current U.S. patents and trademarks.

Customized Services

FedBizzOpps Provides information on opportunities to do business with the federal government. Replaced Commerce Business Daily.

EDGAR Database of corporate information collected by the Securities Exchange Commission

International Trade Commission Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb--Tariff and trade data from the U.S. Department of Commerce. See the FAQ for assistance with using the database

International Trade Administration Several data collections available here

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS):

2017 NAICS Codes

Correspondence Tables Tracks changes in NAICS information. 

USA Trade Online Provides U.S. import and export data

Other Links

International Trade Agreements including NAFTA and other trade issues

The Access Board Accessibility and the Federal Government

CareerOneStop A Public Employment Service, sponsored by the U.S, Department of Labor

Army Careers & Jobs Information about careers and jobs available with the U.S. Army

Employment and Training Administration, Department of Labor

Office of Career, Adult, and Technical Education (OCTAE) The OCTAE gateway includes access to information, research and resources to help students become lifelong learners

Occupational Outlook Handbook Describes hundreds of jobs, their educational requirements, employment prospects, working conditions, etc

O*Net, the Occupational Information Network, is a comprehensive database system for collecting, organizing, describing and disseminating data on job characteristics and worker attributes.

Salary and Wages, Office of Personnel Management. Includes link to Executive Schedule.

The Plum Book, 2016 The United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions (The Plum Book), published by the House Committee on Government Reform and Oversight, contains over 9,000 Federal civil service leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive branches of the Federal government that may be subject to noncompetitive appointment.

Cost of Living Adjustments Detailed tables from the Social Security Administration detailing cost of living adjustments and how they affect Social Security.

Who are my Legislators? Search by home address for members of the U.S. Congress.

Guide to Congressional Sessions Guide listing beginning and ending dates for each session of Congress, produced by the University of Indiana libraries

Congressional Bills Full text of bills back to the 103rd (1993-1994) Congress. Produced by GPO.

History of Bills The History of Bills lists legislative actions on bills that are reported in the Congressional Record, information available back to 1983.

Conference Reports Compromises on legislation negotiated between House and Senate committees. 2005-Present. Produced by GPO

Congressional Debates, journals, and more--Historical Congressional Debates, 1774-1875

Congressional Directory Directory of members of Congress, dating back to 1995.

Congressional Hearings Contains the full text of both House and Senate hearings, dating back to 1985. Produced by GPO

Congressional Pictorial Directory 1997-Present. 

Congressional Record The official record of the proceedings of the Congress back to 1995. 

Congressional Record, Bound Edition Web version of the print edition. 1873 to 2013.

Congressional Record Index Index of CR, 1983-present.

Congress.gov Federal legislative information: bills, committee reports, the Congressional Record, and more.

Public and Private Laws Full text of public and private laws back to the 104th (1995-1996) Congress. Produced by GPO.

Statutes at Large The United States Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. Produced by GPO. Covers 1951-2011.

Historical Statues at Large Digitized Statutes at Large volumes, 1789-1950.

United States Code The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Coverage is 1994-2016.

House of Representatives Committees

House Journal, 1992-2015. The Journal--and not the Congressional Record--is the official record of the proceedings of the House (4 Hinds Sec. 2727; Manual Sec. 582), and certified copies thereof are admissible in judicial proceedings (28 USC Sec. 1736).

The Center For Responsive Politics is an nonpartisan organization that provides access to a variety of resources, including the Registered Federal Lobbyist Database . The CPR downloads this database from the computer located in the House Legislative Resource Center (Room B-106 of the Cannon House Office Building), then loads it on their Web server.

Senate Proceedings

LLSDC's Legislative Source Book Links to sources of Congressional information.

Congressional Research Service Reports Reports made by Congressional staff on Congress on its procedures.

Congressional Calendars Calendars for the House and Senate from 1995 to the present.

Green Book The House Ways and Means Committee Green Book provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics. Published 1994-present.

Plum Book Is used to identify presidentially appointed positions within the Federal Government, 1996-Present.

House Practice Information on the rules and precedents of House procedure, 104th, 108th, 112th, and 115th Congresses.

Senate Manual Rules and regulations governing Senate procedure, 104th, 106th, 107th, 110th, 112th, and 113th Congresses.

Vital Statistics on Congress Comprehensive source of information on Congress. Includes demographics, campaign finance, elections, committee information, etc. 

Government Resources for K-12

USA.gov Education Contains links to web sites from across the Federal government and other organizations and is organized by topic

Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government for Kids--built by the Government Printing Office, this site provides access to educational government resources in three age ranges: 4-8, 9-13, and 14+. See their U.S. Government Web Sites for Kids for a well-organized and rich list of web sites designed for young audiences.

Occupational Outlook Handbook Describes careers--the kind of work involved, average pay, demand, and much more. Great for kids thinking about what they want to do with their lives.

Library of Congress Exhibitions

America's Library

Congress.gov Includes information about current legislation at the national level and many other helpful links.

Coloring Books Links to coloring book pages produced by government agencies

For Teachers and Administrators

ERIC Database of educational resources, produced by the Department of Education 

K12 Practitioners' Circle Provides statistical information on education specifically for local education practitioners, including K-12 teachers and support staff, administrators, policymakers, librarians, community members and parents.

govinfo Contains Congressional resources for teachers

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) This document contains the regulations that grow out of laws passed by Congress.

American Memory Learning Page This web site was created to assist educators as they use the Digital Collections web site to teach about United States history and culture.

Congress.gov Includes information about current legislation at the national level and many other helpful links.

Louisiana Laws Searchable database of Louisiana's laws. 

Louisiana Department of Education

Sam.gov Search this resource for Federal funding opportunities of all kinds for your school and library.

Teaching with Historic Places Use this site to enliven history, social studies, geography, civics, and other subjects.

Smithsonian Smithsonian education outreach program

Free Stuff

​Pueblo.GPO.gov Free and low cost consumer information publications 

ED Pubs On-Line Ordering System 

SAMHSA Online Store Free materials dealing with substance abuse and mental health

Educational Materials from the United States Geological Survey

U.S. Department of Energy

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA): Research reports from the U.S. Department of Energy. 

Gasoline and Diesel Fuel Update Includes current U.S. retail price averages

Petroleum & Other Liquids

Oil and Gas Extraction Provides information on safety hazards associated with oil and gas extraction. Produced by the Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA).

Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE)  Federal agency that oversees offshore oil exploration

Oil and Gas - Louisiana Department of Natural Resources State resources on oil and gas production

Louisiana Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission State agency that oversees petroleum safety 

Healthcare.gov Health insurance enrollment site. Provides information on health exchanges, insurance options, etc. 

Child Welfare Information Gateway Contains information on a variety of issues related to children's health and welfare. Produced by the Department of Health and Human Services.

Consumer Health Outreach Resources  Organizes high-quality online information resources

Dietary Guidelines for Americans Produced by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Healthfinder from the Center for Disease Control--provides links to resources and organizations.

Health Information on the Web: Provides to resources for health professionals and consumers, produced by the National Library of Medicine

National Center for Health Statistics Includes information from the Center for Disease Control (CDC).

Injury Mortality Reports--Contains fatal injury data, non-fatal injury data, and data on violent deaths

Mortality Data--Data and statistics on leading causes of death around the country

MEDLINEplus National Library of Medicine Health Information for Consumers. Includes access to Medline, the Visible Human Project, HIV/AIDS resources, and much, much more.

Environmental Health Perspectives Provides scholarly peer-reviewed articles on health-related topics, produced by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Historical Congressional Resources

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875 Includes full text of the Continental Congress, Constitutional Convention, Journals of Congress, Debates of Congress, and Statutes and Documents 

American State Papers Full Text of legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774-Present--Search for congress people by name, state, and office held. Biographical information often includes party affiliation, dates, places, offices held, photographs, and a reference or two.

United States Congressional Serial Set Full text of congressional documents from 23rd Congress (1833-1835) to 64th Congress (1915-1917). Produced by the Library of Congress.

Declassified Documents

JFK Assassination Files Declassifed documents from the National Archives. New documents released in 2017 and 2018.

Truman Library Declassifed Documents Declassified documents from President Truman's time in office

National Security Archive, "an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)."

Secrecy and Security Library Links to Declassified and previously secret documents. Produced by the Federation of American Scientists.

CIA Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room Full text of declassifed CIA documents

Cryptome Repository of declassified documents dealing with freedom of speech, spying, cryptography, and surveillance

FBI Vault Documents declassified by the FBI 

Government Attic Declassified documents from various agencies

Lyndon Johnson Telephone Conversations Recordings and transcripts of President Johnson's telephone conversations in the White House

McCarthy Hearings Transcripts of the classified McCarthy Red Scare hearings from 1953

National Archives Electronic Reading Room Declassified documents from the National Archives

Nuclear Files Declassified documents related to nuclear weapons

U.S. Department of Energy OpenNet Declassified documents from the Department of Energy

U.S. Department of State Document Collections

Wilson Center Digital Archive International declassified cold war documents

The Black Vault Declassified documents on a wide variety of topics

Historical Resources

100 Milestone Documents Produced by the National Archives

Library of Congress Digital Collections Digitized primary source documents, from the collections of the Library of Congress

Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress

Apollo Missions History of the Apollo missions to the moon, produced by NASA

Bill of Rights Full text of the Bill of Rights from the U.S. Constitution

Constitution of the United States Full text of the U.S. Constitution

Declaration of Independence Full text of the Declaration of Independence

George Washington Papers

The Avalon Project Yale Law School--Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

The Federalist Papers From the Library of Congress

Foreign Relations of the United States This is a growing collection containing "the official documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity." Covers 1861-1960

Foreign Relations of the United States Produced by the State Department. Covers 1861-1989

General Land Office, Bureau of Land Management--Search for Land Patents by patentee name, warrantee name, Indian allotment number, Tribe, county name, section number, survey number, township/range, meridian name, or title.

Images of American Political History copyright-free images from American history.

Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties--the complete legal text of all treaties between the United States Government and sovereign Indian nations. Site includes an index, keyword search engine, treaties arranged chronologically.

Library of Congress Web Archive Archive of electronic documents and web sites devoted to such historical topics as the Iraq war, 9/11, and presidential elections from 1997-present. 

National Portraits Gallery Portraits of the Presidents

Naval Historical Center  Provides extensive resources on topics in the history of the U.S. Navy

U.S. Army Center of Military History Provides extensive resources on the history of the U.S. Army

The International Military Tribunal Nuremberg,  Nizkor Project

Nixon Grand Jury Records Records of President Nixon's testimony before a grand jury in 1975

The Political Graveyard Find where your favorite politician, judge, or diplomat is buried. Many indexes.

Primary Documents in American History Covers 1775-1920. Produced by the Library of Congress

Public Papers of the Presidents Covers 1991-2012, Produced by GPO

Registry of Digitalization Projects List of links to digitalization projects involving government documents 

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum  Resources and information about the Holocaust

Roswell Report: Case Closed Download the full text of the Air Force report on the Roswell UFO incident. 

War of the Rebellion in Cornell University's Making of America. Search or browse Series I through IV, published by the Government Printing Office, Washington, DC, from 1880 to 1901

Web Harvests Online archive of federal agency web sites, dating back to 2004

Words and Deeds in American History 

World War II Posters This site contains a gallery of scanned full-color World War II posters. Search by topic, title, date, and keyword.

World War II Documents Government documents from World War II, digitized by the library at Southern Methodist University

Law and Regulations

Regulations

Code of Federal Regulations (Index)

Unified Agenda 1994-present

Louisiana Administrative Code

Laws

U.S. Code 1994-present 

Louisiana Laws

Both

FindLaw State Resources

Law Librarians' Society

Criminal Justice Sites

ADA Regulations and Technical Assistance Materials

Bureau of Justice Assistance Publications

Bureau of Justice Assistance Evaluation/Planning

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Data Collections

FBI Home Page

Publications

Department of Justice

Publications

Bureau of Diplomatic Security, United States Department of State Included here are links to State Department programs about Counter-Terrorism, Counter-Narcotics, Passport and Visa Fraud Programs, and overseas security programs. Find here also links to criminal justice news items.

Federal Judiciary Home Page

Federal Judicial Center Check out their publication list, dozens of documents in Adobe Acrobat format.

FEDLAW From the General Services Administration. Links to federal and state laws, regulations, legislation, courts, associations, how-to sites, etc. Lots of links.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service has available two resources on the Internet for searching and finding information:

NCJRS Abstracts Database The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.

NCJRS Virtual Library--This searches NCJRS's Justice Information Center web site and the web sites of the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, and the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy.

NCJRS Online Ordering System Browse recently added publications and most popular titles; search by title, key word, or NCJ number. Includes links to online titles in pdf, txt, and/or html. Download or order paper copy. Many titles are free or very low cost.

Office for Victims of Crime, Advocating for the Fair Treatment of Crime Victims--find help for victims, funding opportunities, publications, and more

Court Information

U.S. Federal Courts

U.S. Court of International Trade Decides "any civil action against the United States, its officers, or its agencies arising out of any law pertaining to international trade" and "certain civil actions brought by the United States under the laws governing import transactions." Includes cases from 1999-present.

U.S. Supreme Court

U.S. Supreme Court Cases 1990 to Present And selected cases previous to 1990. Provided by the Legal Information Institution.

National Center for State Courts Court information from NCSC.

National Center for State Courts List of Courts Includes federal and international courts as well as others arranged by state.

Louisiana Judicial Branch

Nexis Uni Legal Information: Search for federal and state case information.

Publications and Databases

Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights

Office of Justice Programs  Database of federally funded or federally provided training programs 

SEARCH.org Criminal justice publications, news, resources

FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin Includes each issue from 1933 to present.

The White House Official website of the President of the United States

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents Published every Monday. Contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week. 1992-Present.

Public Papers of the Presidents Papers of the Presidents from 1991 to 2012

Foreign Relations of the United States The official documentary record of U.S. foreign policy. Includes a wide variety of primary source material, including declassified documents. Published approximately thirty years after the period covered. Covers 1945-1989.

Code of Federal Regulations  See also Cornell's browseable version of the CFR.

Unified Agenda The Regulatory Plan and the Unified Agenda of Regulatory and Deregulatory Actions. Organized by agency, find here uniform reporting on regulations under development and under review by Federal agencies, departments, and commissions.

Consumer Product Safety Commission Includes Recall information.

FatalGrams Reports published by the Mine Safety and Health Administration of fatal accidents in the metal and nonmetal mining industry.

Federal Trade Commission Consumer Protections Resources 

NTIS Publications Here you can order technical reports and other documents available from the National Technical Information Service.

National Safety Council

OSHA

OSHA Ergonomics

OSHA Laws & Regulations

OSHA Library--Manuals, Statistics, Bulletins, Directives, etc.

OSHA Regulations & Compliance

OSHA Outreach--Technical Links, Training, Business Related assistance, etc.

NIOSH The CDC's National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

Petroleum Safety

Oil and Gas Extraction Provides information on safety hazards associated with oil and gas extraction. Produced by the Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA).

Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE)  Federal agency that oversees offshore oil exploration

Louisiana Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission State agency that oversees petroleum safety

Federal Highway Administration Hundreds of publications and statistics.

U.S. Department of Transportation Link to all of the Federal transportation agencies.

National Transporation Library Various transportation publications and databases

Louisiana Department of Transportation

Bureau of Transportation Statistics GIS data, survey results, and a variety of other statistical resources.

MARAD Maritime Adminstration Oversees maritime travel in the U.S. 

U.S. Ports of Entry Produced by U.S. Customs and Border Protection

Department of Health and Human Services

Administration for Children and Families

Poverty Guidelines, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Poverty Statistics This page provides links to several Census Bureau documents related to issues of poverty including definitions used by the U.S. Government.

SNAP-Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Food assistance program, commonly known as "food stamps"

Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services Provides information on assistance for lower-income families in Louisiana. 

Loading ...

Government Information Librarian

Mark Love's picture
Mark Love
Contact:
Ellender Library
Nicholls State University
985-448-4670