Library Policies

Current Faculty, Staff, and Students

Current faculty, staff, and students have circulation privileges. This allows them to check out books, bound serials, documents, monographs, score, and DVDs. Reserved materials can only be used in the library and can be checked out with a Nicholls Colonel Card (See Circulation Rules). Print materials, e.g. articles and reports, are located using the online catalog. These materials can be copied, printed, or downloaded, depending on the individual item’s format. Privileges also include remote access to Library databases. Interlibrary Loan provides books and articles for patrons if the Library does not own or have access to the material.

In addition, students have use of a student funded fax machine.

Classes for bibliographic instruction, information literacy, or both are scheduled by appointment. Students, faculty, and staff may request individual research sessions with a librarian during regular library hours.

Patrons have access to computers, copy machines, microfiche readers, study carrels, study rooms, designated quiet areas, and leisure seating.

The Public

The general public is welcome to use Ellender Memorial Library’s books, journal collections, and computers. The public does not have checkout privileges but can use our copiers, printers and microfilm readers. Members of the public may apply for a Library Courtesy Card.

Courtesy Card

A courtesy card costs 12 dollars a year. They can be purchased from the Access Services desk in the library. After purchase, users must obtain the physical card from the Colonel Card Office in the Student Union with a current Driver’s License receipt from the Library. Privileges begin only when the holder is in possession of the card. 

A Courtesy Card allows:

Up to 10 concurrent checked out items

No remote database access

No interlibrary loan

No use of student funded fax machine

Nicholls Retirees

Nicholls retirees have the same privileges as Courtesy Card holders. Retirees may use Interlibrary Loan. Retirees must obtain a retiree Colonel Card from the Colonel Card Office. These retiree cards must be renewed annually. Retirees do not have remote access to the Library’s databases and are not allowed use of the student funded fax machine.

Alumni

Alumni members who have paid their annual membership fee will be granted Library access similar to those granted with a Courtesy Card. However, Interlibrary Loan, remote access to the Library’s databases and use of the student funded fax machine is not included. Alumni members must obtain a Colonel Card before receiving Library services.

The Archives & Special Collections and Government Information departments are open to all library users. However, material in the Archives & Special Collections department is non-circulating and can only be used in the Archives. The Government Information department offers both circulating and non-circulating materials. Please refer to their departmental policies for more information.