English & Literature
Template Reference Books and Text
Want a basic understanding of literature concepts? Use these reference resources to get started on your research project. Print reference books can be found in the reference stacks on the second floor of Ellender Library.
For additional reference assistance, contact the Ellender Library Reference Desk at (985) 448-4625 or use our online form.
Databases to start your research
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts
- Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new windowThis robust full-text database provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It gives students, teachers and librarians a complete foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
- Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new windowGale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases.
Specialized Reference
World Literature
A Henry James Encyclopedia by Call Number: Ref PS 2122 .G35 1989Publication Date: 1989Print Resource
American Literature
American Literature
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance by Call Number: Ref PS 153 .N5 A24 2003Publication Date: 2003-09-01Print Resource
The Companion to Southern Literature by Call Number: Ref PS 261 .C55 2002Publication Date: 2001-11-01Print Resource
The Oxford Companion to English Literature by Call Number: Ref PR 19.D73 1985Publication Date: 1985-05-16Print Resource
