Skip to main content
Ellender Library

OpenEd & OER Info

Open Education Consortium

The Open Education Consortium is a global network of educational  institutions, individuals and organizations that support an approach to education based on openness, including collaboration, innovation and collective development and use of open educational materials. The Open Education Consortium is a non-profit, social benefit organization registered in the United States and operating worldwide with a mission to promote, support and advance openness in education around the world. 

For more information, visit the Open education Consortium website here

To search open courses, click here

Open Course Resources

The Open Course Resource Center from Saylor Academy is an excellent resource for educators who wish to adapt and use open course resources for their classroom. 

MIT Open Courseware is celebrating 15 years of "unlocking knowledge." MIT currently provides materials from over 2260 courses freely available online. For more information, and to search for courses, check out their website here

Tufts University provides access to Open Courseware online. Tufts courses demonstrate the University's strength and multidisciplinary approach in the life sciences, as well as an international perspective and ethic of service to its local, national and international communities. You can find additional information on their website here

Yale offers free introductory courses online through Open Yale. No registration is required. To search for an open course, visit Open Yale's website here

CSU's MERLOT currently includes over 40,000 free open course materials, many of which have been peer reviewed. To browse the MERLOT collection, visit them on the CSU's Affordable Learning Solutions website here

The Open Course Library is a collection of high quality, open course materials and resources put together by the Washington State Board of Community and Technical Colleges. All materials are available as Google docs for easy access and adaptability. 

Carnegie Mellon's Online Learning Initiative (OLI) offers online courses for anyone who wishes to learn or teach. Students and instructors alike can benefit from OLI's data-driven design that embeds assessment tools into each course and includes feedback for users as they progress through their studies. 

Lumen Learning has compiled a course catalog of OER spanning a variety of topics which can be utilized freely online. Enhanced versions can also be adopted for small fee (see additional information under "Reduced Cost Options" options below). 

 

 

Reduced Cost Options

Recently launched Cengage Unlimited offers students unlimited, on demand access to all of the publisher's digital learning platforms, eBooks, online homework and study tools for a reduced price. Access is good for one semester at a time, and includes the MindTap app for easier learning on the go. 

Intellus Open Courses offer fully customizable courses that make adopting OER easier, and more affordable, than ever before. Check out their website for more details. 

Lumen offers three different learning tools which curate OER resources for easier adoption by teaching faculty. Candela provides affordable eBooks enhanced with curated text, video, interactives, and other learning materials. Waymaker combines enriched OER with personalized learning tools to help faculty improve their connections with their students. OHM provides online homeork and other learning resources for a reduced cost.