Skip to main content
Ellender Library

OpenEd & OER Info

Free Online Textbooks

BCcampus OpenEd

Designed to create a collection of open textbooks for the top 40 highest enrollment subjects in British Columbia, Canada, BCcampus OpenEd provides access to textbooks created, or adapted, by post-secondary faculty in British Columbia. All textbooks are reviewed by British Columbia faculty and made available under a creative commons license. For more information, visit their website here

bookboon.com

Bookboon.com offers over 1,000 free textbooks online. Browse their collection here

Directory of Open Access Books

The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) includes academic, peer-reviewed open access books from a variety of publishers. To search the directory, check out their website here

Global Text Project 

The Global Text Project publishes open electronic textbooks and makes them freely available online. Books covers a variety of topics, from Accounting and Algebra to Health and Information Technology. To search for a book, visit their website here

InTech

Since 2004, InTech has published over 2,500 books in science, technology, and medicine. These works have been cited over 20,000 in Web of Science and have been downloaded over 76 million times. For more information, visit the InTech website here

LibreTexts

The LibreTexts project is a collaborative partnership between multiple institutions to develop open access texts. The resources created by LibreTexts contributors are under constant revision students, faculty, and other experts. Subjects include sciences, social sciences, medicine, and the humanities. LibreTexts also offers Textbook Maps in an attempt to create open versions of existing texts. More information can be found on their website here

Lumen Pressbooks

Developed in conjunction with Lumen Learning, this site provides access to a variety of free textbooks on a number of different topics. Visit the Lumen catalog here

MERLOT

Founded by the California State University system in 1997, the MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) collection includes tens of thousands of subject-specific resources, exercises and more. All resources are reviewed for suitability, and many are even peer-reviewed. For more information and to browse the collection, check out the MERLOT website here

MIT OpenCourseWare Online Textbooks 

These site was created as an index to the open electronic textbooks used in MIT OpenCourseWare courses. You can search by department on their website here

OER Commons

OER Commons includes hundreds of free textbooks from higher education institutions around the world. To search their online catalog, click here

Open Culture 

Open Culture provides links to 200 free online textbooks from a variety of disciplines. To browse available titles and see what's new, click here

OpenStax College

OpenStax College offers free online textbooks that are meant to fit within the scope for most typical introductory courses across a number of disciplines. For more information, visit their website here

Open SUNY Textbooks

Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook initiative from the State University of New York libraries. The textbooks included on this site are high-quality and cost-effective. Visit their website here to browse the collection. 

Open Textbook Library

Hosted by the University of Minnesota's College of Education, the Open Textbook Library contains a number of free online textbooks covering nearly a dozen different subjects. All books included in the library have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities. See what the Open Textbook Library has to offer here

Saylor Academy

Saylor Academy provides curriculum for its free courses online in downloadable textbook format. Check out their available titles here

Textbook Revolution

Textbook Revolution is a website run by students and dedicated to promoting the use of free education resources online. Books are available as PDFs and eBooks that can be read online. For additional information, check out the Textbook Revolution website here

Why Are Textbooks So Expensive?

The College Textbook Shakedown infographic