Distance Education & Nicholls Online

Databases

The library has over 150 databases. There is a search box on the library's homepage with a tab to find a database. You can choose from the drop down menu or click the "All Databases" link to view an A-Z list of our databases. 

Click the link below to go to the alphabetical listing of databases.

How to Search for Articles Using Databases

Databases are a great place to start your search for scholarly articles since they provide the opportunity to search across a huge number of publications at once.

To find databases relevant to your subject matter, check out the subject guide on your area of interest.

TIP: When using the databases, try BOOLEAN searching. Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT.

Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects. These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms.  

• Using OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
• Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.  
• Using NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.  

Example: Searching for "global warming" AND "Louisiana" will pull up resources that address both global warming and Louisiana.

Tips to Search for Articles Using Databases

Looking for help understanding how to choose a database or how to find a scholarly source? Try watching the videos on the Database Tips page of this guide that includes videos from the Nicholls Library YouTube Channel.

Topics include: 

• The Top 5 Databases to Jumpstart Your Research
• 3 Strategies for Better Searching
• How to Access Scholarly Sources