Distance Education & Nicholls Online
Welcome
Finding Resources
The library has a vast collection of books, ebooks, journals, and newspapers. Use the tips below to help you find sources.
Finding Information on your Topic
Articles
Scholarly journals can offer insights and commentary on the most current developments in a given field. Use our databases to look for a specific topic across a range of journals.
Books
Books offer lengthier, in-depth discussions on a specific topic, as well as bibliographies which may provide additional sources for your research. Books and eBooks can be located through the library catalog.
Web Resources
Government websites, museum websites, news sites, and organizational websites can provide information for research papers, but be sure to evaluate these source for accuracy and bias.
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
Secondary Sources
Studies by researchers that describe, analyze, and interpret data found in primary sources to make information more accessible. Examples of secondary sources include books, articles, encyclopedias, and dictionaries.
Original works such as manuscripts, diaries, oral histories, statistical information, surveys, speeches, and government documents. These represent original thinking, reports on discoveries, or the ideas of a specific time and/or place.
To find primary sources in Ellender Library, consult Archives and Special Collections and Government Information.
Search the Library Catalog
You can use the search box below to search for resources across the library catalog.
Choose from the drop down menu to search by keyword, title, author, subject, series, or periodical title.
Search Tip: Boolean Searching
Whether you're using the library catalog or searching our EBSCO databases, Boolean searching can help you narrow your search results to a more specific topic. Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT. Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects.
These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms. In EBSCO databases, you can find Boolean terms in drop down menus to the left of the fields where you enter your search terms.
Adding OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.
If you use NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.