Government Information

Atlas: The Louisiana Statewide GIS: The Louisiana Atlas web site makes available to the public data and information related to GIS in Louisiana, GIS data documentation, and data sharing on the World Wide Web (WWW). This page is currently maintained by the CADGIS Research Laboratory at LSU in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, a lab supported by the LSU College of Art and Design and the LSU Department of Geography and Anthropology. The CADGIS Lab teaches computer-based courses and facilitates research in the areas of computer aided design (CAD) and geographic information systems (GIS).

Centennia A computer graphic guide to the history of Europe and the Middle East from the year 1000 AD to the present. Includes dynamically evolving maps showing over 9,000 border changes and is accompanied with an online text.

Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps Produced by UC Berkeley Libraries

Electronic Map Library Digital atlases created by Dr. William Bowen of the Department of Geography, California State University, Northridge.

Historical Maps Database of digitized historical maps, produced by the University of Georgia Libraries

Perry-Castenada Library Map Collection Wide variety of current and historical maps of the United States, World, and Country maps. Produced by the University of Texas.

Historic Cities A joint project of the Historic Cities Center of the Department of Geography, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Jewish National and University Library.

Historical Atlas of Canada Produced by the University of Toronto

History of Cartography from the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

Map Collections The Library of Congress' online maps, including:

• Cities and towns
• Panoramic Maps
• Discovery and Exploration
• Military Battles and Campaigns
• Transportation and Communication
• General Maps

Map History / History of Cartography - THE Gateway to the Subject

Maps and References A huge list of links, including online maps, atlases, glossaries and much more, provided by University of Iowa's Center for Global & Regional Environmental Research.

Le Monde Diplomatique Map Collection: a political look at territory provides many online thematic maps from around the world

National Atlas of Canada

National Geologic Map Database A searchable index of USGS and state geological survey geologic maps.

National Resources Canada: Maps

Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe from 001 AD to 1700

Peter Dana's Overviews of Global Positioning System (GPS), Geodetic Datum, Coordinate Systems, and Map Projections

Ryhiner Map Collection, project of the University Library of Berne, includes the catalog and a digital archive of some of its 16th-18th century maps.

Soil Survey Manuscripts An online collection of maps providing access to Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) soil survey information.

United States State Coordinates coordinates of each state's boundaries 

University of Waterloo cartographic information

USGS Map Information includes information on map products, aerial photography, geospatial data, and educational resources..

ZIP Code Geography and Mapping from UC Santa Barbara.

Citing Maps and Atlases from North Carolina State University Libraries