Research and Instruction

Finding Articles in Journals

Browsing subject-specific journals can keep you up to date on research trends and current developments in your field, and may give you ideas for research topics. Print journals can be accessed in the Serials department on the third floor, and electronic journals are accessible through our online catalog. Look for a list of topic-specific journals in the subject guide for your area of interest.

How to Search for Articles Using Databases

Databases are a great place to start your search for scholarly articles since they provide the opportunity to search across a huge number of publications at once.
To find databases relevant to your subject matter, check out the subject guide on your area of interest.

TIP: When using the databases, try BOOLEAN searching. Boolean describes the connecting word you use between your search terms such as AND, OR, & NOT.
Using these connectors allows you the ability to link search terms, so you can find articles that address multiple subjects. These options are sometimes found in drop down menus where you enter your search terms, or you will have to enter them yourself between terms.  

Adding OR between search terms will search for all records with one term OR the other (this is a broader search tool).
Using AND between words will search for all records with BOTH or ALL search terms applied.  
If you use NOT between the terms, it will search for the FIRST word in your search string and NOT the other.  

Example: Searching for "global warming" AND "Louisiana" will pull up resources that address both global warming and Louisiana.

Introductory Videos

Check out these instructional videos for demonstrations on how to perform database searches:

EBSCO Databases

Non-EBSCO Databases: JSTOR,Gale, Project Muse

General Topics Databases

Here are a few databases that cover a wide variety of topics. To see all of the databases we subscribe to, check out Ellender Library's database list.

Academic Search Complete 
The world’s most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection 
Offers full-text access to hundreds of journals in many disciplines of the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, business, and education. 

CREDO Reference 
Online research platform for a wide variety of topics. Start your research here for help with choosing a topic and getting background information. The Real-Time Reference in this database helps you get fact-based information with pro vs con viewpoints.

CQ Researcher

 In-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day.

Image from: Pixabay 

This page was created by Magen Nosworthy (Fall 2018 ENGL 489)