UNIV 101
Boolean Searching
Boolean searching is the use of three “operators” – AND, OR, and NOT – that allows you to strategically search, helping you find information you can use for your research in less time!
Using Boolean operators to connect your search words allows you to narrow or broaden your results helping you to find EXACTLY what you need. You can use a combination of these operators to connect your terms, or use only one operator at a time – it’s up to you!
| AND | OR | NOT |
| = Narrow Search Strategy |
= Broad Search Strategy |
= Narrow Search Strategy |
| Will only bring back results where ALL search terms or phrases occur | Will bring back results that have ANY of your search terms or phrases | Will bring back results on one topic NOT the other |
| Not all search terms may be connected in the way you want | Allows you to connect similar topics for more results | Use with caution because can eliminate articles that are important to your research |
* Did you know? In many search engines and databases, AND is the default search term!
"Using the Databases." Research - Expert Level. Crossett Library at Bennington College. 13 May 2016. Web. 3 August 2016.
Book Search
With a quarter of a million books in print, we are sure to have something on your research topic. Use this search box to find books available at Ellender Memorial Library.
The drop down menu above gives you several options for searching:
Keyword: This will search for the term in all areas of the record. Keep your topic to its key concepts for this search.
Author: Use if you know the author's name. You can enter just the last name of the author, or if you know their full name enter is as last name, first name (Example: Dickens, Charles).
Title: Enter either the full title or just a few keywords from the title.
Subject: This is helpful if you are looking for numerous books on a topic. To the right are some suggestions of subject headings that may be useful in your research.
Database Search
We have more than 100 databases that provide the most current information, both academic and popular. Be aware that when you search, you must analyze your sources even if it is in one of the library's databases.
If you know the exact database you want to search, find it in the alphabetical list of databases. Not sure where to start? Look at the databases by subject to see which ones best fit your research.
If you can't get the full-text of an article you need in a database, use the "Locate the Full Text of Articles" flowchart in the Journals tab to figure out your next steps.
Journal Search
Ellender Memorial Library subscribes to tens of thousands of journals in print and online. See if we have what you are looking for in this search box.
Can't find the journal you need? Use this flow chart to figure out your next steps.(Click the photo to make it larger.)
Want to know more?
See these videos, articles, and infographics to explore this topic further!
Boolean Searching