Featured Ebooks
Welcome
Finals are upon us!
This collection of ebooks were curated to give you a little extra help during stressful times. Mental health is important, so we wanted to share with you some of our virtual resources.
The books below include books about coping with mental health struggles, fiction and poetry by and about people with mental health struggles, and more. This collection only scratches the surface of ebooks we have on this topic, so if you would like to inquire about more, please contact us at el.reference@nicholls.edu.
Contemporary Poetry Books
Superhero Therapy
For the first time ever, psychologist Janina Scarlet and Marvel and DC Comics illustrator Wellinton Alves join forces to create Superhero Therapy--a dynamic, illustrated introduction to acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) to help you vanquish your inner monsters, explore your unique superpowers, and become a Superhero questing for what matters to you. By learning to face up to their inner villains and monsters, these characters will inspire you to overcome your problems as well. When you're finished, you'll have a slew of new tools you can use--like mindfulness, self-compassion, and values--to help you conquer whatever life throws your way. Sometimes life is hard, and it takes super inner super strength to succeed and reach your goals. With this fun and unique guide under your belt, nothing will stand in your way.
Alternative Medicine
In his sixth collection of poetry, the celebrated poet-physician Rafael Campo examines the primal relationship between language, empathy, and healing. As masterfully crafted as they are viscerally powerful, these poems propose voice itself as a kind of therapeutic medium. For all that most ails us, Alternative Medicine offers the balm of song and the salve of the imagination: from the wounds of our stubborn differences of identity, to the pain of alienation in a world of unfeeling technologies, to the shame of the persistent injustices in our society, Campo's poetry displays a deep understanding of hurt as the possibility for healing. Demonstrating an abiding faith in our survival, this stunning, heartfelt book ultimately embraces the great diversity of our ways of knowing and dreaming, of needing and loving, and of living and dying.
Stress Buster
In our increasingly hectic society we are under constant pressure to get the best results, the top job, a better car or a bigger house. For many reasons, stress can become a major problem affecting our relationships and even our health. Stress can ruin lives, and most people don't know how to cope with it - or how they can use it as an energy force. If you're always getting angry in the car, at home or at work, if you constantly feel out of balance, then this book is for you. It will help you identify the causes of stress in your life, and shows you how to deal with them in a practical way. With true-life examples, clear explanations and relevant advice, it's an indispensable aid to overcoming stress.
Test Anxiety
Examination stress and test anxiety are pervasive problems in modern society. As the information age continues to evolve, test scores will become even more important than they are today in evaluating applicants for demanding jobs and candidates for admission into highly competitive educational programs. Because test anxiety generally causes decrements in performance and undermines academic achievement, the development of effective therapeutic interventions for reducing its adverse effects will continue to be an important priority for counselors, psychologists, and educators.
Transgender Mental Health
Societal awareness of transgender and gender-nonconforming (TGNC) individuals is greater now than at any point in history, owing to the education of policymakers by advocacy organizations, the education of clinicians by research and scientific organizations, and the education of the general public by movies, television, and other media. However, most professional training programs for mental health professionals provide little to no education regarding gender diversity. Transgender Mental Health squarely addresses this deficit. This guide forgoes clinical jargon in favor of accessible, straightforward language designed to educate clinicians on how to address the basic needs of the TGNC community, thus increasing access to mental health care for TGNC individuals, which has been sorely lacking to this point.
Aid and Comfort
"These poems are as poignantly felt as they are skillfully made. I hope they will find many readers."--James Merrill "Reading Aid and Comfort, I was reminded of John Gardner's description of the true artist as one who, in the face of death, invents prayers and weapons. Greg Johnson has turned his extraordinary gifts to that task, fashioning a work of power and courage--prayers that are direct and plainly spoken, yet sing; weapons that flash in the late sunlight."--Judson Mitcham Though this collection deals with a range of disturbing issues--the AIDS epidemic, aging, suicide, psychological aberration, and the violence of contemporary America--it is rich with the "aid and comfort" of compassion, truth, and a language of survival.
Activity for Mental Health
Activity For Mental Health explores all activities, including physical, social, natural, cognitive, art/hobby and music as a means to both preventing and treating mental illness. This book not only reviews evidence-based research behind activity, but also explores how these forms of activity can treat mental illnesses.
The Yellow Wallpaper
Doctor's orders confine a woman suffering from anxiety and depression to her bedroom, in an effort to prevent mental stimulation of any sort. Despite her forced "rest cure," she continues to write in her journal when her husband isn't looking. Her entries record her terrible and growing fascination with the hideous yellow wallpaper that dominates the room, documenting her slow descent into madness. This work by American author Charlotte Perkins Gilman was based on the author's own experiences. She knew firsthand that the nineteenth-century medical establishment often had dangerously misguided ideas about women's mental and physical health. It is considered to be a seminal feminist work by some, a prime example of Gothic horror by others. First published in 1892, this is an unabridged version of Gilman's controversial short story.
The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Teen Anxiety
Move past anxiety and discover what really matters to you. Written by three experts in teen mental health, this powerful workbook offers evidence-based activities grounded in acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) to help you cope with anxiety, build resilience, stop avoiding the things you fear, and lead a fuller, happier life.
The Woman in White
Walter Hartright meets the ethereal figure of a woman in white on a moonlit road who is familiar with Limmeridge House in Cumberland, where he is to take up employment as a drawing teacher. The mystery deepens when he learns that she, by all accounts, has escaped from an asylum.
Black Women's Mental Health
Creates a new framework for approaching Black women's wellness, by merging theory and practice with both personal narratives and public policy. This book offers a unique, interdisciplinary, and thoughtful look at the challenges and potency of Black women's struggle for inner peace and mental stability. It brings together contributors from psychology, sociology, law, and medicine, as well as the humanities, to discuss issues ranging from stress, sexual assault, healing, self-care, and contemplative practice to health-policy considerations and parenting. Merging theory and practice with personal narratives and public policy, the book develops a new framework for approaching Black women's wellness in order to provide tangible solutions. The collection reflects feminist praxis and defines womanist peace in terms that reject both “superwoman” stereotypes and “victim” caricatures. Also included for health professionals are concrete recommendations for understanding and treating Black women.
University Student Mental Health
Student Mental Health: A Guide for Psychiatrists, Psychologists, and Leaders Serving in Higher Education is the result of a sustained and multidisciplinary collaboration of scholars, leaders, clinicians, and educators who are deeply committed to student health and well-being.
The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Depression
What if depression could lead to positive change? Written by acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) cofounder Kirk Strosahl and Patricia Robinson, this revised edition of the best-selling classic, The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Depression includes updated research on self-compassion, mindfulness, and neuroscience to help you live a more meaningful life. If you suffer from depression, you may feel like you are living under a perpetual raincloud, even when it's sunny outside.
The Anxiety Cure
One in four people suffers from some form of anxiety-- and for millions, the symptoms can be crippling. Fortunately, anxiety disorders are highly treatable. Written in a friendly and reassuring manner, The Anxiety Cure offers both sufferers and their loved ones immediate, long-lasting relief. The authors share their step-by-step methods for dealing with the six main types of anxiety, including panic disorder, agoraphobia, generalized anxiety disorder, specific phobias, and obsessive-compulsive disorder, along with treatment prescriptions and easy relaxation techniques.
Community Mental Health Engagement with Racially Diverse Populations
Community Mental Health Engagement with Racially Diverse Populations summarizes research on reducing mental health disparities in underserved populations through community engagement programs. It discusses the efficacy of such programs with specific populations of people of color and cultures, for specific disorders, and via specific communities. It identifies how and why community engagement works with these populations, how best to set up new community programs, the steps and stakeholders to success, and includes case studies showing successes and the challenges involved.
Collected Works of F. Scott Fitzgerald (45 Short Stories and Novels)
Francis Scott Key Fitzgerald was an American author of novels and short stories, whose works are the paradigm writings of the Jazz Age, a term he coined himself. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest American writers of the 20th century. Fitzgerald is considered a member of the'Lost Generation'of the 1920s. He finished four novels: This Side of Paradise, The Beautiful and Damned, his most famous, The Great Gatsby and what is now considered his true masterpiece, Tender Is the Night, which is written as an ode to his wife, Zelda, and his experience with her mental illness.
The Shyness and Social Anxiety
There's nothing wrong with being shy. But if shyness or social anxiety keeps you from building meaningful relationships with others, advancing in your education or career, or simply living your best life, The Shyness and Social Anxiety Workbook offers a comprehensive program to help you confront your fears and become actively involved in the world.
Agua Santa - Holy Water
Drawing on oral and lyrical traditions, this book honors the grace and spirit of mothers, daughters, lovers, and goddesses. From a tribute to Frida Kahlo to advice from an Aztec goddess, the poems explore the intimate and sacred spaces of borderlands through many voices: a revolutionary, a domestic worker, a widow.
Workplace Mental Health Manual for Nurse Managers
This text provides a comprehensive overview, if not thesis, of the contributing factors to workplace stress and how to revisit them, and our own mental health. How can nurses and health care workplaces expect to offer health and healing when such basic foundational human dynamics of mental health are not addressed? This work opens the door to both the dynamics and the deep dimensions of the root issues facing humanity and our places of work and play
Anger Management
Do you work with angry children? Are you wondering why young people don't listen when they are angry? Are you exhausted from trying to understand angry behaviour? Anger Managementis a practical guide that will help you to stay calm in the face of angry outbursts from children and young people.
Improving Mental Health
In Improving Mental Health: Four Secrets in Plain Sight, Dr. Lloyd Sederer draws upon four decades of diverse clinical practice, mental health research and public health experience to create a memorable volume that is as elegant as it is instructive. The book aims to help clinicians improve the lives of their patients--and patients to improve their own lives--by identifying these secrets and taking action in ways that can work immediately, closing the science-to-practice gap. In addition to mental health and primary care clinicians, patients and their families will find the book's many stories, clinical examples and cultural references fascinating and illuminating.
Hamlet
The original text of one of Shakespeare's most famous tragedies. the play is presented here in it's original form, with all its original spelling intact.