Skip to main content
Ellender Library

Archives and Special Collections: Rebuilding an Island, Saving the Coast, Sustaining the Community

Rebuilding an Island, Saving the Coast, Sustaining the Community

Click on images to enlarge. 

History of Last Island

Loading ...

Barrier Island Restoration

Loading ...

Advocating for the Coast

Loading ...

Copyright and Reproduction

Copyright and Reproduction

Physical rights are retained by Nicholls State University. Copyright is retained in accordance with United States copyright law. Permission is required to reproduce any images included in this exhibit. 

Links to the finding aids for collections displayed here can be found in the Works Cited at the bottom of this page. 

Works Cited

Manuscript Collections

Robert Jones Papers, MS.00225, Archives and Special Collections, Ellender Memorial Library, Nicholls State University Thibodaux, La.

William Littlejohn Martin Papers, MS.00011, Archives and Special Collections, Ellender Memorial Library, Nicholls State University, Thibodaux, La.

Published Works

1853 U.S. Coast Survey Map of Ship Island Shoal, Louisiana. United States Coast Survey [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons.

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority. Louisiana’s Comprehensive Master Plan for a Sustainable Coast. State of Louisiana, 2012.

Crisis on Louisiana's Coast... America's Loss. New Orleans District: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 1988.

Hansen, Gunnar. Islands at the Edge of Time: A Journey to America's Barrier Islands. Washington, D.C.: Island Press, 1993.

Hearn, Lafcadio. Chita: A Memory of Last Island. 1889. Text via Project Gutenberg

Mossa, Joann, Shea Penland, and Thomas F. Moslow.Coastal Structures in Louisiana's Barataria Bight. Coastal Geology Report No. 1. Baton Rouge, Louisiana: Louisiana Geological Survey, 1985.

Pugh, W.W. "Reminiscences of an Old Fogy: The Last Island Storm." Assumption PioneerJune 3, 1882. 

Picot, E. "Last Island Hotel." Planter's Banner (Franklin, Attakapas Co., La.), July 7, 1853. Image courtesy of Louisiana State University via Chronicling America (Library of Congress). 

Williams, S. Jeffress, Kurt Dodd, and Kathleen Kraftt Gohn.Coasts in Crisis. United States Geological Survey Circular 1075. United States Government Printing Office, 1990.