Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Veterans of Southeast Louisiana

The Veterans of Southeast Louisiana Collection

About this collection

The Veterans of Southeast Louisiana collection, created by the Archives and Special Collections Department at Nicholls State University, consists of videotaped interviews and other materials from U.S. veterans living in southeast Louisiana. The collection consists of interviews primarily from Lafourche and Terrebonne Parishes, but also includes interviews from the following parishes: Assumption, Iberia, Jefferson, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, and St. Mary.

Participants in the interviews range from service in World War II to the present conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan, including service during peacetime. The interviews feature their life growing up in Louisiana, military experience, and life after active duty. The collection includes a short biography, photographs, and relevant military documents of each veteran. It also relates their accounts of growing up in southeast Louisiana, reflecting the history and culture of their respective areas.


Copyright information

Physical rights are retained by Nicholls State University. Copyright is retained in accordance with United States copyright law. Permission is required to reproduce any images included in this exhibit.


Citation Information

Veterans of Southeast Louisiana Collection, MS.00219, Archives and Special Collections, Ellender Memorial Library, Nicholls State University, Thibodaux, La.

LOUISiana Digital Library

Exhibit

To view interview clips and images from this collection, visit the Veterans of Southeast Louisiana page on the LOUISiana Digital Library website. 

Charles "Bubba" Braud (left) onboard a ship with three other servicemen from Thibodaux, Louisiana.
Braud served in the U.S. Army Air Corps from 1943 to 1945.
From the Veterans of Southeast Louisiana Collection (MS.00219).